NiSource Shareholders Elect 2013-14 Directors at Annual Shareholders Meeting

New Chairman Richard Thompson Confirmed

May 14, 2013, 14:30 ET from NiSource Inc.

MERRILLVILLE, Ind., May 14, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- NiSource Inc. (NYSE: NI) shareholders today elected the company's Board of Directors for 2013-14. As previously announced, and confirmed at today's Annual Shareholders Meeting, Richard Thompson was named NiSource's Chairman, succeeding outgoing Chairman Ian Rolland following his retirement from the Board after more than 30 years of service. 

2013-14 NiSource Board Members

As part of NiSource's commitment to contemporary governance practices, shareholders elect members of the NiSource Board of Directors for one-year terms at the company's annual shareholder meeting.

NiSource Board of Directors members elected today for the 2013-14 term include:  Richard L. Thompson, Chairman; Richard A. Abdoo; Aristides S. Candris; Sigmund L. Cornelius; Michael E. Jesanis; Marty R. Kittrell; W. Lee Nutter; Deborah S. Parker; Robert C. Skaggs, Jr.*; Teresa A. Taylor; and Carolyn Y. Woo.

In addition, NiSource stockholders ratified the appointment of Deloitte & Touche LLP as the Company's independent registered public accountants for the year 2013, approved a non-binding advisory vote on the compensation of the company's named executive officers and rejected two shareholder proposals.

Additional information about NiSource's Board of Directors and the company's corporate governance practices is available at

* With the exception of Robert C. Skaggs, Jr., all board members are independent.

About NiSource

NiSource Inc., based in Merrillville, Ind., is a Fortune 500 company engaged in natural gas transmission, storage and distribution, as well as electric generation, transmission and distribution. NiSource operating companies deliver energy to 3.8 million customers located within the high-demand energy corridor stretching from the Gulf Coast through the Midwest to New England. Information about NiSource and its subsidiaries is available via the Internet at NI-F

Forward Looking Statements

This news release includes forward-looking statements within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended, and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended. Those statements include statements regarding the intent, plans, belief or current expectations of NiSource and its management. Although NiSource believes that its expectations are based on reasonable assumptions, it can give no assurance that its goals will be achieved. Readers are cautioned that the forward-looking statements in this release are not guarantees of future performance and involve a number of risks and uncertainties, and that actual results could differ materially from those indicated by such forward-looking statements. Important factors that could cause actual results to differ materially from those indicated by such forward-looking statements include, but are not limited to, the matters set forth in the "Risk Factors" Section and the Note regarding forward-looking statements in NiSource's 2012 Form 10-K and subsequent filings on Form 10-Q, many of which are risks beyond the control of NiSource.  NiSource expressly disclaims a duty to update any of the forward-looking statements contained in this release.

SOURCE NiSource Inc.