NiSource Shareholders Elect 2014-15 Directors at Annual Shareholders Meeting

May 13, 2014, 13:57 ET from NiSource Inc.

MERRILLVILLE, Ind., May 13, 2014 /PRNewswire/ -- NiSource Inc. (NYSE: NI) shareholders today elected the company's Board of Directors for 2014-15.

As part of NiSource's commitment to contemporary governance practices, shareholders elect members of the NiSource Board of Directors for one-year terms at the company's annual shareholder meeting.

NiSource Board of Directors members elected today for the 2014-15 term include: Richard L. Thompson, Chairman; Richard A. Abdoo; Aristides S. Candris; Sigmund L. Cornelius; Michael E. Jesanis; Marty R. Kittrell; W. Lee Nutter; Deborah S. Parker; Robert C. Skaggs, Jr.*; Teresa A. Taylor; and Carolyn Y. Woo.

In addition, NiSource shareholders ratified the appointment of Deloitte & Touche LLP as the Company's independent registered public accountants for the year 2014, approved a non-binding advisory vote on the compensation of the company's named executive officers and rejected a shareholder proposal.

Additional information about NiSource's Board of Directors and the company's corporate governance practices is available at  

* With the exception of Robert C. Skaggs, Jr., all board members are independent.

About NiSource

NiSource Inc. (NYSE: NI), based in Merrillville, Ind., is a Fortune 500 company engaged in natural gas transmission, storage and distribution, as well as electric generation, transmission and distribution. NiSource operating companies deliver energy to 3.8 million customers located within the high-demand energy corridor stretching from the Gulf Coast through the Midwest to New England. Information about NiSource and its subsidiaries is available at  NI-F

SOURCE NiSource Inc.