Outstanding bone and joint health stories sought for 10th annual Media Orthopaedic Reporting Excellence (MORE) awards

Awards recognize excellence in reporting on musculoskeletal health issues and advancements

Jul 22, 2014, 13:08 ET from American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons

ROSEMONT, Ill., July 22, 2014 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) has opened the call for submissions to its 10th annual MORE Awards.  These awards recognize excellence in accurate reporting on musculoskeletal health issues, healthy behaviors, and high-quality care of bones and joints.  The Academy invites all journalists to submit their stories of prevention and treatment of musculoskeletal issues, or stories of recovery from these injuries or conditions.

Stories can cover any bone and joint health related topic, whether it's on a particular orthopaedic condition, clinical research, musculoskeletal health trends, health policy as it relates to bone and joint health, orthopaedic injuries or innovative treatments. 

MORE Awards will be given to stories written for a CONSUMER audience in the following categories:

  • National & Local Print Journalism: newspapers, magazines.
  • National & Local Broadcast Journalism:  television, radio. 
  • Web-specific Journalism: stories created exclusively for an online audience.
  • Advocacy and Health Policy Journalism:  newspapers, magazines, Internet, television, radio.

The entry deadline is Monday, October 13, 2014.  Entries must have been published or broadcast between October 1, 2013 and October 1, 2014.  Interested journalists are asked to visit aaos.org/moreawards to submit digital versions of their work. There is no fee to enter.

"Orthopaedic surgeons want current and future patients to have the most accurate information on musculoskeletal health issues and advancements," said Academy President Frederick M. Azar, MD.  "Through the MORE Awards, the Academy honors and recognizes reporters who have written or produced outstanding and accurate stories on orthopaedic trends, procedures, technologies and/or patient treatment success."

The MORE Awards will be presented at an evening banquet in Washington, DC at the Academy's National Orthopaedic Leadership Conference on April 30, 2015.

The 2014 MORE Award winners were a diverse group of health and medical writers, producers and
 freelance reporters working for print, broadcast and online outlets, including:

  • Sports Illustrated
  • CNN
  • USA Today
  • NBC Nightly News
  • CBS 4 Denver
  • The Billings Gazette

Enter the 2015 MORE Awards

View the complete list of 2014 Winners.

About AAOS


SOURCE American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons