Pelosi Announces Steering and Policy Committee Members

Dec 02, 2010, 15:29 ET from Office of the Speaker of the House

WASHINGTON, Dec. 2, 2010 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Speaker Nancy Pelosi announced today that the following members were elected or appointed to the House Democratic Steering and Policy Committee. 

"With the talent and dedication of our distinguished Members serving on the Steering Committee, House Democrats stand ready to continue fighting for the middle class and creating jobs in the 112th Congress," Speaker Pelosi said.  "I look forward to working with the Steering Committee, the Democratic Caucus, and with the Republican Majority to address the needs of the American people and the challenges facing our nation in a bipartisan way." 

The following will be members of the Steering & Policy Committee for the 112th Congress:

  • Co-Chairs: Rosa DeLauro of Connecticut and George Miller of California;
  • Vice Chairs: Debbie Wasserman Schultz of Florida and Henry Cuellar of Texas;
  • Regionally Elected Members: Linda Sanchez of California, Mazie Hirono of Hawaii, Betty McCollum of Minnesota, Bobby Rush of Illinois, Rick Larsen of Washington, Sheila Jackson Lee of Texas, Heath Shuler of North Carolina, John Barrow of Georgia, James Moran of Virginia, Marcy Kaptur of Ohio, Jerrold Nadler of New York, and Niki Tsongas of Massachusetts;
  • Appointed Members: Robert Andrews of New Jersey, Bruce Braley of Iowa, Kathy Castor of Florida, Mike Doyle of Pennsylvania, Keith Ellison of Minnesota, Gabrielle Giffords of Arizona, Zoe Lofgren of California, Gwen Moore of Wisconsin, Jared Polis of Colorado, Collin Peterson of Minnesota, Allyson Schwartz of Pennsylvania, Jackie Speier of California, and Tim Walz of Minnesota. 

The Steering Committee also includes members of the elected leadership, DCCC Chair, Organization Study & Review Chair, Chief Deputy Whips, a Freshman Representative, the Ranking Member of the Budget Committee and the Rules Committee, and the Ranking Members of four exclusive committees who still need to be approved by the Steering Committee and then the full Democratic Caucus.

SOURCE Office of the Speaker of the House