Police Union Endorses Berrios for Assessor

Jan 08, 2010, 17:26 ET from Joseph Berrios

CHICAGO, Jan. 8 /PRNewswire/ -- The Fraternal Order of Police Chicago Lodge #7 today endorsed Joseph Berrios for Cook County Assessor in next month's Democratic Primary.

With this endorsement, the Fraternal Order of Police joins more than 75 organizations and elected officials who are supporting Berrios in his run for assessor.

"The Fraternal Order of Police is proud to endorse Joe Berrios for Cook County Assessor. His public service record has been dedicated to protecting the working men and women of Chicago," FOP President Mark Donahue said today. "We believe that as assessor Joe will continue to fight property tax hikes and be a strong advocate for taxpayers."

FOP Chicago Lodge #7 represents the city's more than 13,000 officers.

"I am honored to have the backing of these fine men and women," said Berrios. "I look forward to representing them as Cook County Assessor, making taxpayers my number one priority."

Other groups who have endorsed Berrios are: Advocate Society, AFSME, Association of Polish-American Attorneys, Chicago Federation of Labor AFL-CIO, Chicago Firefighters Union Local 2, Cook County Democratic Party, Hispanic American Labor Council, Journeymen Plasterers' Protective and Benevolent Society of Chicago, Local No. 5, Local Union 597 Chicago Pipe Fitters, Operating Engineers Local 150 and United Hellenic Voters of America.

Elected officials who have endorsed Berrios include: Illinois Secretary of State Jesse White; State Senators John Cullerton, James DeLeo, Ricky Hendon, Martin Sandoval and Louis Viverito; State Representatives Edward Acevedo, Maria Berrios, Daniel Burke, Marlow Colvin, John D'Amico, Anthony DeLuca, Mary Flowers, Esther Golar, Greg Harris, Joseph Lyons and Kevin McCarthy;

Cook County Sheriff Thomas Dart; Cook County Board Commissioners Jerry Butler and Deborah Sims; Metropolitan Water Reclamation District Commissioners Frank Avila, Gloria Alitto Majewski, Kathleen Therese Meany and Mariyana Spyropoulos;

Chicago Aldermen Thomas Allen, James Balcer, Walter Burnett Jr., George Cardenas, Vi Daley, Sharon Dixon, Brian Doherty, Pat Dowell, Toni Foulkes, Margaret Laurino, Patrick LeVar, Lona Lane, Freddrenna Lyle, Richard Mell, Frank Olivo, Toni Preckwinkle, John Pope, Bernard Stone, JoAnn Thompson and Michael Zalewski;

And Cook County Committeemen Maggie Crotty, Wilbert Crowley, Patricia Cullerton, Charles Hernandez, Jesse Juarez, Steven Landek, Lou Lang, Michael Looney, Robert Lovero, Robert Martwick, Terry Matthews, Brian McPartlin, Antonio Munoz, Mary O'Connor, Barrett Pedersen, Bill Powers, Robert Rita, Tom Sharpe, Samuel Simone, Edward Smollen, Rocco Terranova and Frank Zuccarelli.

The Democratic Primary is scheduled for February 2 and the General Election set for November 2.

Berrios has been a commissioner on the Board of Review since 1988. Prior to being elected five times to that post, he served three terms as an Illinois state representative.

He is chairman of the Cook County Democratic Party and Committeeman of the 31st Ward. Berrios was the first Hispanic elected chairman of the party, a commissioner to the Board of Review and to the Illinois General Assembly.

SOURCE Joseph Berrios