Radio Ink Announces Finalists Of The 2014 Medallas De Cortez Awards For Excellence In Hispanic Broadcasting

- Music Legend and Distinguished Leadership Award-Winner Jose Feliciano Will Keynote the Hispanic Radio Conference March 10th in San Diego

Feb 13, 2014, 15:00 ET from Radio Ink Hispanic Radio Conference

BOYNTON BEACH, Fla., Feb. 13, 2014 /PRNewswire/ -- Radio Ink Magazine, the radio broadcasting industry's premier management and marketing trade magazine, today announced the finalists of its Medallas De Cortez Awards. The Medallas De Cortez Awards are sponsored by Sun Broadcast Group, and were established by Radio Ink to recognize those in media and entertainment who have demonstrated extraordinary leadership and commitment, especially within the Hispanic community. The Medallas De Cortez Awards are named for Raoul Cortez, Hispanic radio pioneer in America and founder of the first Spanish-language radio station, KCOR, in 1946. The full list of finalists is attached. Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony to be held during Radio Ink's 5th Annual Hispanic Radio Conference on March 10-11, 2014, at the Hyatt Regency Mission Bay in San Diego. The awards were established in 2007 to recognize excellence in Hispanic radio broadcasting. 

Deborah Parenti, EVP of Radio and Conference Manager for Streamline Publishing, Inc., publisher of Radio Ink, said: "The quality and diversity of nominations for the "Medallas de Cortez" are truly outstanding.  Each one demonstrates the professionalism and dedication of Hispanic radio to its listeners."

This year, the Medallas de Cortez nominating committee also voted to bestow its highest honor, the Distinguished Leadership Award, to nine-time Grammy Award-winning artist and humanitarian, Jose Feliciano. Feliciano will be presented with this award following a keynote address he will make at the Hispanic Radio Conference. Feliciano's keynote will be a rare opportunity to hear this music legend speak from the heart about his life and his music.

For conference agenda and full details, visit

To register online, visit

About The Hispanic Radio Conference

The 5th Annual Hispanic Radio Conference will be held in San Diego on March 10-11, 2014, at the Hyatt Regency Mission Bay. The Hispanic Radio Conference, produced by Radio Ink Magazine, is the only conference dedicated exclusively to Hispanic radio, bringing together radio broadcasters from across the country to share their vision and address the challenges and opportunities unique to Hispanic radio. The conference brings unity to Hispanic radio, and the radio broadcasters in attendance represent a combined audience reach of approximately 95% of the 50+ million Hispanic U.S. population. Previous keynotes have included Henry Cisneros, Charles Garcia, and Geraldo Rivera. For more information and to register online, visit

About Radio Ink Magazine

Radio Ink Magazine is the radio broadcasting industry's premier management and marketing trade magazine. Radio Ink is published by Boynton Beach, Florida-based Streamline Publishing, Inc. The bi-monthly magazine celebrated its 20-year anniversary in 2012. For more information, visit

2014 Medallas de Cortez Finalists

Marketer of the Year                                                                       

Dick Kalt

CRN International                                                                                       

Mary Hawley

Entravision Solutions

Kathleen Bohan 


Personality of the Year

Pedro Biaggi 

WLZL, Washington DC

Broderick Zerpa    


Miami/Fort Lauderdale

Argelia Atilano 

KLVE, Los Angeles

Enrique Santos 

Univision Multi Markets

Maria Esther  

KOVE-FM, Houston

Edgar Sotelo 

KMVK, Dallas

Jorge Ramos   

ESPN Deportes                                                                                           

Ricardo Brown  

WURN, Las Vegas

Armando "El Chiquilin" Ulloa

KLZT, Austin

Program Director of the Year

Haz Montana   

Univision, Los Angeles

Al Sanchez  

WPPN/WVIV, Chicago

Jose "El Gallo" Gadea  

KLZT, Austin

Pedro Javier Gonzalez    


Eastern Region

Ricardo Otero 

WNUA, Chicago

Carlos Gonzalez  

WKAQ-FM, Puerto Rico

Jimmy Gonzalez  

KMVK, Dallas

Sales Manager of the Year

Karima Khawja 

Univision, New York

Juan Fina 

Spanish Broadcasting 

System, Miami

Randy Garcia 

KLZT, Austin

Tony Valencia 



Corinna Ruiz 


Tyler/Longview, TX

General Manager of the Year

Herbie Martinez 

KQBU-KLAT, Houston

Ed Krampf 



Luis Soto  

WPRM,Puerto Rico

Doug Levy 

Univision, Chicago

Gerardo Martinez  

KBBU, Modesto

Station of Year




San Antonio                                                                                              





Brownsville, TX


Los Angeles                                                                                             




Las Vegas                                                                                                



Broadcaster of the Year

Jay Meyers 

Adelante Media Group                                                                                      

Oscar Ramos

ESPN Deportes Radio                                                                                 

Jeffery Liberman


Albert Rodriguez 

Spanish Broadcasting


Alfredo Plascencia 

Lazer Broadcasting                                                                                     

CONTACT: Lisa Dollinger
Dollinger Strategic Communication
(512) 633-4084

SOURCE Radio Ink Hispanic Radio Conference