Regional Transportation Agency to Add Two Board Members

New Positions to be Appointed by Mayors of San Jose, Oakland

Jul 13, 2012, 18:09 ET from Metropolitan Transportation Commission

OAKLAND, Calif., July 13, 2012 /PRNewswire/ -- The Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC) is set to expand next year to 21 members from the current 19 after Gov. Brown today signed into law Assembly Bill 57 (Beall). One of the new commissioners is to be appointed by the mayor of San Jose and the other by the mayor of Oakland.

To align the incoming members' terms with MTC's four-year cycle, AB 57 — which takes effect Jan. 1, 2013 — sets the initial terms of the new representatives from San Jose and Oakland to expire in February 2015. The new law also limits to three the number of voting members who may be residents of the same county, and requires the San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development Commission's (BCDC) representative on the MTC board to be a BCDC commissioner, a resident of San Francisco, and to be approved by the mayor of San Francisco.

AB 57 boosts the number of voting positions on the MTC board to 18 from the current 16. In addition to BCDC, each of the following entities or jurisdictions currently has a voting position on the Commission: Alameda County; Alameda County cities; the Association of Bay Area Governments; Contra Costa County; Contra Costa County cities; Marin County and cities; Napa County and cities; San Francisco City and County Board of Supervisors; San Mateo County; San Mateo County cities; Santa Clara County; Santa Clara County cities; Solano County and cities; Sonoma County and cities; and a San Francisco Mayor's appointee. The Commission's three non-voting members include representatives from the state Business, Transportation & Housing Agency; the U.S. Department of Transportation; and the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

MTC is the transportation planning, coordinating and financing agency for the nine-county San Francisco Bay Area.

SOURCE Metropolitan Transportation Commission