Ricardo Salinas Presents Perspectives on Global Connectivity at Tijuana Innovadora 2010 Conference

—Worldwide mobile connections could reach 50 billion over the next decade—

Oct 22, 2010, 14:33 ET from Grupo Salinas from ,Ricardo Salinas

TIJUANA, Mexico, Oct. 22 /PRNewswire/ -- Grupo Salinas, a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically advanced companies deeply committed to the modernization of the countries in which they operate, is pleased to announce the recent participation of its Founder and Chairman Ricardo B. Salinas Pliego as keynote speaker during a gala dinner of the Tijuana Innovadora 2010 technology and culture conference.

Speaking of connectivity perspectives, Mr. Salinas said that connectivity is a fundamental tool for global development, with important opportunities in the areas of knowledge, business, entertainment and social interaction.

Connectivity is growing in line with technology opportunities, and global mobile connections could reach 50 billion over the next decade. Not only will people be increasingly connected, but also machinery, medical apparatus, energy distribution and vehicles. However, networks must be expanded to take advantage of these opportunities.

He said the current legal framework should be revised, since overregulation inhibits investment in the telecommunications industry, which is one of the most important growth areas for the future of millions of youth in Mexico.

Mr. Salinas also presented applications offered by Grupo Iusacell —such as MiFi, Red Movil Azteca and Taxista Vigilante— that allow users to increase productivity and quality of life.

As part of his visit to Tijuana, Ricardo Salinas received the keys to the city as recognition of his trajectory as an entrepreneur.

Tijuana Innovadora 2010 is an opportunity to highlight the advances in education, science, culture, art and technology in Tijuana. The event included presentations by former U.S. Vice President and Nobel Peace Prize winner Al Gore, Nobel Prize winner in Economics  Robert Aumann, Qualcomm CEO Paul Jacobs, Ted Agata, Senior Managing Director for Toyota Motor Corp., U.S. author Francis Fukuyama, Mexican business leader Carlos Slim, TV host Larry King and Tevisa Chairman Emilio Azcarraga Jean, to name a few.

Company Profile

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include:: TV Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx; www.irtvazteca.com), Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

Contact

Daniel McCosh

+52 (55) 1720-0059

dmccosh@gruposalinas.com.mx



SOURCE Grupo Salinas; Ricardo Salinas



RELATED LINKS

http://www.gruposalinas.com