Ricardo Salinas Presents Tuition Vouchers to 2,380 Students of Plantel Azteca School

Oct 06, 2010, 20:39 ET from Grupo Salinas from ,Fundacion Azteca

MEXICO CITY, Oct. 6 /PRNewswire/ -- Grupo Salinas, a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically advanced companies deeply committed to the modernization of the countries in which they operate — founded by Ricardo Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com) — presented tuition vouchers to 2,380 students of the Plantel Azteca school to officially inaugurate the 2010-2011 school year this month.

This event was presided by Grupo Salinas Founder and Chairman Ricardo Salinas Pliego, Secretary of Education Alonso Lujambio Irazabal, Fundacion Azteca Executive President Esteban Moctezuma Barragan and Plantel Azteca Academic Director Maria Teresa Badillo, in the company of students, teachers and parents.

This year, the tuition vouchers will benefit 2,380 students and cover the full cost of enrollment, tuition, uniforms, books  and other school supplies , as well as special conferences, workshops and courses developed throughout the year for students and their families. As of last year, Plantel Azteca had delivered 26,814 tuition vouchers to students. The educational cost of Plantel Azteca, which is funded by Fundacion Azteca, is presented in the form of a voucher to emphasize the tangible value of education. To date, 6,232 of those students have graduated with average grades of 8.5 or better on a ten-point scale.

Plantel Azteca is a private secondary and technological high school for low income students with strong desires to excel. Plantel Azteca has provided excellence in education since its founding in 1997, with consistent results in the National Evaluation of Academic Success in Schools, better known as ENLACE, its initials in Spanish, that rates Plantel Azteca among the 75 best private and public schools in Mexico.

Plantel Azteca promotes values such as respect, responsibility, honesty and discipline, as well as emphasizing the values of family, and Mexican traditions and customs to develop socially responsible and environmentally conscious citizens.

About Grupo Salinas

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: TV Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx; www.irtvazteca.com), Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

About Fundacion Azteca

Fundacion Azteca is the Grupo Salinas organization that promotes corporate social responsibility both within the group as well as throughout Mexican society as a whole, by linking social needs with organizations and people willing to commit themselves socially and ecologically in the creation of solutions. The foundation also operates in Peru and Guatemala, as well as in United States through Fundacion Azteca America. For more information visit our web page at: www.fundacionazteca.org.

International Press Contact: Daniel McCosh; (5255) 1720-0059; dmccosh@gruposalinas.com.mx

SOURCE Grupo Salinas; Fundacion Azteca