SAE International Announces 2010 Class of SAE Fellows

Jun 01, 2010, 15:00 ET from SAE International

WARRENDALE, Pa., June 1 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Twenty-four engineers and scientists from industry and academia now have the prestigious SAE International status of "SAE Fellow." Each received the award during the SAE 2010 World Congress Awards Ceremony.

SAE Fellowship status is the highest grade of membership bestowed by SAE International. It recognizes outstanding engineering and scientific accomplishments by an individual that have resulted in meaningful advances in automotive, aerospace and commercial-vehicle technology. The program, established in 1975, recognizes an average of 20 worldwide recipients for this honor each year.

The 2010 recipients, listed in alphabetical order, include:

  • John M. Cavanaugh, tenured Full Professor at Wayne State University in the Department of Biomedical Engineering
  • Mark H. Costin, Senior System Safety Engineer, Functional Safety, GM Global Vehicle Systems & Integration
  • Frank J. Fronczak, Professor, Mechanical Engineering, University of Wisconsin-Madison  
  • Richard W. Greaves, Senior Vice President, Technology & Engineering, Meggitt PLC, Fribourg, Switzerland
  • Matthew J. Hall, Professor, Thermal Fluids Systems Program, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Texas at Austin
  • David Japikse, Chairman of the Board and CEO of Concepts ETI, Inc.
  • Joseph N. Kanianthra, President of Active Safety Engineering LLC
  • Chia-fon Lee, Professor of Mechanical Science and Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Paul Mascarenas, Vice President of Engineering, Ford Motor Company
  • Manuch Nikanjam, Consulting Engineer, Chevron Fuels Technology Team
  • Kazuo Okamoto, Vice Chairman of the Board, Toyota, Japan
  • Ferdinand Panik, Professor, University of Applied Science in Esslingen, Holzmaden, Germany
  • Michael G. Pecht, Director, Center for Advanced Life Cycle Engineering, University of Maryland
  • Matthew Reed, Research Associate Professor, Biosciences Group, University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute and Center for Ergonomics in Industrial and Operations Engineering
  • J.E. "Ted" Robertson, President, Magna International
  • Akihiko Satio, Senior Advisor, Toyota Board of Directors, retired Toyota Chairman of the Board
  • William Robert Shapton, Professor Emeritus, Michigan Technological University
  • Ahmed Soliman, Associate Professor, University of North Carolina at Charlotte and Director, Motorsports and Automotive Research Center
  • Ulrich Spicher, Professor/Head of Internal Combustion Engines, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Internal Combustion Engines, Germany
  • Robert D. Straub, Technical Fellow, Diesel Fuel Systems, General Motors Powertrain
  • Leonard S. Tedesco, President, Oakshott Engineering
  • Donald H. Verhoff, Executive Vice President, Corporate Engineering and Technology, Oshkosh Corporation
  • Min Xu, Professor and Director, Shanghai Jiao Tong University (SJTU), Institute of Automotive Engineering
  • King-Hay Yang, Professor and Director, Biomedical Engineering, Bioengineering Center, Wayne State University

SAE International is a global association of more than 128,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. SAE International's core competencies are life-long learning and voluntary consensus standards development. SAE International's charitable arm is the SAE Foundation, which supports many programs, including A World in Motion® and the Collegiate Design Series.

- -

Contact: Shawn Andreassi, 724-772-8522 or

SOURCE SAE International