Seattle Psychiatrist Named President of State Medical Association

Sep 28, 2015, 15:07 ET from Washington State Medical Association

SEATTLE, Sept. 28, 2015 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Dr. Ray Hsiao was elected president of the Washington State Medical Association (WSMA) at the association's annual meeting in Spokane, Sunday, Sept. 27. The WSMA represents physicians, resident physicians, medical students and physician-assistants throughout Washington state.

Dr. Hsiao is a child psychiatrist and addiction specialist at Seattle Children's, where he also serves at the co-director of the adolescent substance abuse program. In addition to his responsibilities at Children's, Dr. Hsiao serves as an associate professor and director of the Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Residency Training Program at the University of Washington School of Medicine.

Dr. Hsiao received his medical degree from Feinberg School of Medicine at Northwestern University. He completed his residency at University of Washington and is triple board certified in psychiatry, addiction psychiatry and child and adolescent psychiatry.

Dr. Hsiao is also a member of multiple professional associations including the American Psychiatric Association, Washington State Psychiatric Association and the American Medical Association. He has received the American Association of Directors of Psychiatry Residency Training William Sorum Award, as well as multiple teaching awards from the University of Washington School of Medicine and the American Medical Association Foundation.

The following physicians were also elected as officers at the association's annual meeting:
Dr. Shane Macauley, Bellevue radiologist, president-elect; Dr. Donna Smith, Seattle pediatrician, 1st Vice President; Dr. Tom Schaaf, Spokane family physician, 2nd Vice President; Dr. Bill Hirota, Tacoma gastroenterologist, Secretary-Treasurer; Dr. Nathan Schlicher, Tacoma emergency physician, Assistant Secretary-Treasurer. The seventh officer of WSMA's Executive Committee is past-president Dr. Brian Seppi, Spokane internist, who will serve as committee chair.

Photo -


SOURCE Washington State Medical Association