Semi-Finalists and Finalists Announced in L. Ron Hubbard's Contest for New Speculative Fiction Writers

Jan 20, 2010, 15:07 ET from Writers of the Future Contest

HOLLYWOOD, Calif., Jan. 20 /PRNewswire/ -- In what is known as the largest contest of its kind in the world, finalists for the 4th Quarter of the 26th year of the L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest were announced.

The semi-finalists and finalists for the 4th quarter of the 2009 contest are:


M. Alan Ford of California

Laurie Gailunas of Michigan

Sarah Grey of Arizona

Erica Hildebrand of Pennsylvania

Edward A. Liebing of Utah

David Moore of California

Chris Owens of Virginia

Gwendolyn Clare Williams of North Carolina

Cliff Winnig of California

All semi-finalists will receive a critique from the contest Coordinating Judge, author and educator, K.D. Wentworth.


John Arkwright of Georgia

Andrew Baines of Texas

Scott W. Baker of Tennessee

Kevin Kenan of Oregon

Jeffrey D. Lyman of New York

Lael Salaets of Oregon

Meagan Spooner of Virginia

Laurie Tom of California

The 8 finalists stories are sent to 4 of the contest judges. Of those 8 stories, the 3 with the highest points are the 3 winners of the quarter. There is a 1st, 2nd and 3rd place winner every quarter. The 3 winners of each quarter are awarded cash prizes, a week long intensive workshop, an awards ceremony and are also published in the annual L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future. The judging process, once the finalists are determined by the coordinating judge, takes a little over a month.

Well-known contest judges include multiple Nebula and Hugo Award winners and finalists such as Kevin J. Anderson, Orson Scott Card, Anne McCaffrey, Larry Niven, Jerry Pournelle, Tim Powers, Robert J. Sawyer, Robert Silverberg, Dave Wolverton, Sean Williams and K.D. Wentworth.

A Grand Prize winner is announced at the annual awards ceremony and is selected from another panel of judges. The 4 first place winners from each of the quarters are eligible for the Grand Prize of $5,000.00.

For more information about the contest, go to

SOURCE Writers of the Future Contest