'Spotlight' and 'Better Call Saul' Big Winners at Satellite Awards

Feb 22, 2016, 02:28 ET from International Press Academy

LOS ANGELES, Feb. 22, 2016 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- When she last attended the International Press Academy Awards, Louise Fletcher declared: "This is the best awards show I've ever been to. It's crazy! And I've been to the Oscars." Fletcher, who won Best Actress at the Academy Awards for her role as Nurse Ratched in "One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest" was honored again Sunday night with the prestigious Mary Pickford Award for her contributions to the entertainment industry.

Among the largest group of international and domestic entertainment journalists honored the best in film, television and new media on Sunday night (Feb. 21, 2016) at the Intercontinental Hotel in Culver City, Calif.

At the star-studded 20th annual International Press Academy awards, Satellite statuettes were handed out to "Spotlight" for Best Motion Picture and Best Ensemble, as well as Best Director for Thomas McCarthy and Best Original Screenplay for McCarthy and Josh Singer.

Other winners include Saoirse Ronan for "Brooklyn" for Best Actress, Leonardo DiCaprio for "The Revenant" for Best Actor, Alicia Vikander for "The Danish Girl" for Best Supporting Actress and Christian Bale for "The Big Short" for Best Supporting Actor.

"Son of Saul" from Hungary took the Best International Film honor and "Inside Out" won Best Animated or Mixed Media Motion Picture.

"Our membership wants to honor the best, and we feel documentaries are very important, so this year we awarded a tie," said IPA president Mirjana Van Blaricom.  "Amy" and "The Look of Silence" tied for Best Documentary.

In the television awards, the IPA gave "Better Call Saul" best TV Series Drama and Rhea Seehorn for Best Supporting Actress.

"The Walking Dead" won for Best TV Series, Genre and "Silicon Valley" won for Best TV Series, Comedy.

Best Miniseries went to "Flesh and Bone," and "Stockholm, Pennsylvania" took Best Motion Picture Made for Television.

Among the other major honors handed out by the Press Academy, HIVE Lighting co-founders Robert Rutherford and Jon Edward Miller won the Tesla Award. Spike Lee won the Humanitarian Award.

Filmmaker Robert M. Young, after suffering a stroke and still working at 91, won the Auteur Award. He was flanked on stage by actors he has worked with including Bruce Davison, Edward James Olmos, Maria Conchita Alonso and others.

Best First Feature honor went to Jayro Bustamante for "Ixcanul" and Breakthrough Performance went to the young boy in "Room," actor Jacob Tremblay.

Amy Schumer won a special award for Breakthrough Comedian of the Year for "Trainwreck."

The IPA is the only major awards show comprised of international and domestic entertainment journalists and critics that give awards to film, television, new media and interactive and digital every year. The more than 100 members span from more than 20 countries.

For a complete list of winners and nominees, as well as photos from the event, go to www.pressacademy.com.

SOURCE International Press Academy