Stanford's Montgomery Named 2013 "The Jet" Return Specialist Award Winner

Jan 09, 2014, 08:00 ET from Johnny Rodgers

OMAHA, Neb., Jan. 9, 2014 /PRNewswire/ -- The 2013 Jet Award goes to Ty Montgomery of Stanford. Montgomery, a Dallas, Texas native, finished the season first with a game average 31.2 kickoff return yards. He is tied for second nationally with two kickoff returns for touchdowns. The junior ranks ninth with 161.0 all-purpose yards a game and 10 games with 100 plus all-purpose yards. Montgomery is the First Team all Pac-12 as a returner and Second Team as a wide receiver.

Three finalists were considered for the 2013 award by a panel of members of the media who cover college football. The other finalists are Odell Beckham, Jr. a junior from LSU and freshman Ryan Switzer of North Carolina. 

The Johnny "The Jet" Rodgers National College Football Return Specialist Award honors the best return specialist in college football. Drawing its name from 1972 Heisman trophy winner Johnny "The Jet" Rodgers, the Jet Award is voted on by a selection committee of football writers and broadcasters from around the country, as well as Rodgers.

The award ceremony will take place Thursday, April 10, 2014, at the Ralston Arena, 73rd and Q Streets, Omaha. The keynote speaker will be Jay Harris of ESPN. The award event funds the Johnny Rodgers Career and Technical Education Scholarship at Metropolitan Community College.

To be considered for the Jet Award, players must be a primary kick or punt returner for their team. They must be among the national leaders in return categories and show leadership, courage, desire and respect for authority and discipline.  West Virginia's Tavon Austin won the award in 2012. Joe Adams of Arkansas won the inaugural award in 2011. 

The initial watch list of 50 was narrowed down by the selection committee to 13 athletes for a mid-season watch list in late October. Three finalists were determined after the final games of the regular season. The winner was chosen by a vote of the selection committee.

Veteran college football return specialists will be honored with Legacy awards each year as well. Former LSU Tiger and 1959 Heisman Trophy winner Billy Cannon was awarded the 2012 Legacy award. This year, a veteran return specialist from the 1960's will receive the Legacy award.

For more information about the Jet Award, the award program and the scholarships, please visit

For More Information
Tele: (402) 350-8000
Fax: (402) 342-5874

Media contact:
Deborah Trivitt, APR

SOURCE Johnny Rodgers