Tauscher, Zoellick, Kurzman and Jackson join NED Board of Directors

Feb 13, 2013, 16:47 ET from National Endowment for Democracy

WASHINGTON, Feb. 13, 2013 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Robert B. Zoellick, Ellen O. Tauscher, Barry Jackson and Jayne M. Kurzman have joined the Board of Directors of the National Endowment for Democracy (NED). All four were elected for a three-year term at the NED Board's first meeting of 2013.

"Each of these four new board members brings tremendous experience and insight to NED," said NED President Carl Gershman. "I know that their service will greatly benefit the Endowment and our grantees, who are working to strengthen and defend democracy worldwide."

Robert B. Zoellick is a senior fellow at the Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs at Harvard University's Kennedy School of Government and a distinguished visiting fellow at the Peterson Institute for International Economics. Mr. Zoellick was the president of the World Bank Group from 2007 to 2012. He served in the cabinet of the Bush administration as U.S. Trade Representative from 2001 to 2005 and as Deputy Secretary of State from 2005 to 2006. From 1985 to 1993, Mr. Zoellick worked at the Treasury and State departments in various capacities, as well as in the White House as Deputy Chief of Staff to former president George H.W. Bush.

The Honorable Ellen O. Tauscher is strategic advisor in the Federal Policy Practice at Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz PC in Washington, D.C., providing clients with her expertise and skills in national security, defense, transportation, export control and energy policy areas. Previously, Ms. Tauscher served as Under Secretary of State for Arms Control and International Security from 2009 to 2012. Prior to joining the Obama administration, Ms. Tauscher served as a member of the United States House of Representatives from California's 10th Congressional District from 1997 to 2009.

Barry Jackson served as chief of staff to Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives John Boehner from 2010 to 2012. Jackson also served as Rep. Boehner's first chief of staff from 1991 to 2001, as well as executive director of the House Republican Conference during Boehner's tenure as chairman from 1995 until 1999. Prior to his return to Mr. Boehner's office from 2001 to 2009, Mr. Jackson served as the first director of the Office of Strategic Initiatives and as assistant to the President for strategic initiatives and external affairs. In this role he managed the White House offices of Political Affairs, Public Liaison, Intergovernmental Affairs and Strategic Initiatives.

Jayne M. Kurzman is a partner in the New York law firm Davidson, Dawson & Clark LLP. She is a fellow of The American College of Trust and Estate Counsel, a past chair of the Committee on Taxation of the Trusts and Estates Law Section of the New York State Bar Association, and a past co-chair of its Special Committee on AIDS and the Law. Ms. Kurzman currently serves on the professional advisory committees of The Rockefeller University (vice chairman), the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Museum of Modern Art, the New York Public Library, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center and the Central Park Conservancy.

The National Endowment for Democracy was created in 1983 as a private, nonprofit, grant-making foundation with a mission to strengthen democratic institutions around the world through nongovernmental efforts. With an annual appropriation from the U.S. Congress, the NED Board, which is independent and bipartisan, makes more than a thousand grants each year to support prodemocracy groups in nearly 90 countries. The Endowment supports projects that promote political and economic freedom and participation, human rights, a strong civil society, independent media and the rule of law.

SOURCE National Endowment for Democracy