Television Academy Foundation Announces Open Submissions For 35th College Television Awards

Submissions are also being accepted for the SUBWAY FRESH ARTISTS™ AWARD, the Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Scholarship and the Mister Rogers Memorial Scholarships.

Oct 24, 2013, 15:23 ET from The Television Academy Foundation

NORTH HOLLYWOOD, Calif., Oct. 24, 2013 /PRNewswire/ --The Television Academy Foundation announced today that it has opened the submission process for the 35th College Television Awards. This prestigious student awards program recognizes excellence in student video, digital and film production created by undergraduate and graduate students enrolled in accredited universities nationwide.

"The mission of the Foundation is to educate the leaders who will shape the future of television," said Norma Provencio Pichardo, executive director of the Television Academy Foundation.  "By offering this highly-competitive awards program, we are seeking to recognize excellence in college student-produced video, digital and film work and create a national platform for recognition of these talented individuals," finished Provencio Pichardo.  

Participating students will also have the chance to compete for the SUBWAY FRESH ARTISTS™ AWARD, the Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Scholarships, and Mister Rogers Memorial Scholarships. Winners will be honored at the 35th College Television Awards Gala, to be held in Spring, 2014 in Los Angeles. Previous College Television Award winners have gone on to achieve notable success in the industry, some winning Primetime Emmy® Awards and Oscars.

The entry deadline for all awards programs is January 14, 2014 at 12:00 p.m. (PST).

The College Television Awards
Similar to how the Primetime Emmy® Awards honors the work of industry professionals, the College Television Awards is a national competition recognizing excellence in college student-produced video, digital and film work. Award categories and entry information can be found at:

The newest award category included in the College Television Awards, the SUBWAY FRESH ARTISTS AWARD challenges students to create short films in relation to a selected theme. This year's theme is "In life, the best things are always made to order." The competition winner will receive a $10,000 cash award, plus the option and funds to create additional webisodes.  Entry information can be found at:

The Mister Roger's Memorial Scholarship
Now in its ninth year, The Mister Rogers Memorial Scholarship recognizes graduate students who are working to further the legacy of Fred Rogers, beloved producer/creator of the acclaimed children's program, "Mister Rogers' Neighborhood." Grants in the amount of $10,000 are given to graduate students focused on using children's media as a positive and enriching force in education and entertainment. Entry information can be found at:

The Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Scholarships
Awarded to two students whose work focuses on the needs, achievements, and contributions of people with disabilities, the $10,000 Loreen Arbus Scholarship helps emerging artists gain recognition and increases visibility for artists with disabilities. One of the honorees will be selected from entrants in the College Television Awards and another will be selected from the PSA competition of the Alliance for Women in Media. More information can be found at:

For more information on the Foundation's award and scholarship programs, please visit

About the Television Academy Foundation
Established in 1959 as the charitable arm of the Television Academy, the Television Academy Foundation is dedicated to preserving and celebrating the history of the medium, and educating those who will shape its future. Some of the Foundation's programs include the Archive of American Television, its renowned Student Internship Program and the College Television Awards.  For more information on the Foundation, please visit

For more information, please contact:

Laura Reeve
Edelman PR

SOURCE The Television Academy Foundation