Tennessee Coalition Honors Outstanding Advocates in Fight to End Domestic and Sexual Violence

Oct 08, 2010, 09:39 ET from Tennessee Coalition Against Domestic and Sexual Violence

NASHVILLE, Tenn., Oct. 8 /PRNewswire/ -- The Tennessee Coalition Against Domestic and Sexual Violence today announced its 2010 award winners,  recognizing advocates and allies from across the state for their work to end domestic and sexual violence. The Coalition will honor this year's winners at the 21st Annual Luncheon and Awards Ceremony on October 15, 2010 at Nashville's Wildhorse Saloon as part of Domestic Violence Awareness Month. Tickets for the event are still available on the Coalition's web site at www.tcadsv.org.

"The key to success in the fight against domestic and sexual violence is not only building awareness, but also building relationships," said the Coalition's Executive Director Kathy Walsh in announcing the awards. "These awards recognize those Tennesseans who build those relationships and bring awareness to the problem of domestic and sexual violence in our state."

This year's award winners are:

Judge Wheatcraft Award: Detective Kelvin Jones, Murfreesboro

This premier award, established in 1989 in honor of Judge Jane Wheatcraft, is given to a member of the judicial or law enforcement field in recognition of exceptional leadership in improving access to justice for victims of domestic and sexual violence

Advocate of the Year Award: Deborah Yeomans, Jonesborough

This prestigious award is given in memory of Mary Renshaw who dedicated her life to the service of others. This award acknowledges an advocate who has demonstrated hard work, dedication and perseverance in the struggle to end violence against women.

Leadership Award: Judge Christie Mahn-Sell, Chattanooga

The Leadership Award recognizes an individual who has shown excellence in leadership as demonstrated by outstanding initiative, impact on the community and inspiration of others in the movement to end domestic and sexual violence.

Legislator of the Year Award: State Representative Sherry Jones, Nashville

The Legislator of the Year Award honors a member of the Tennessee General Assembly who has championed significant legislation to help end violence against women. Through their passion and advocacy, victim voices are heard.

Youth Leadership Award: Sebastian Jones, Nashville

The Youth Leadership Award is presented to a young person who has demonstrated an outstanding commitment to ending violence in their community. The recipient of this award possesses courage, passion and extraordinary leadership skills.

Visionary Voice Award, Tracy Blackburn, Knoxville

The Visionary Voice Award is given in conjunction with our national partner, the National Sexual Violence Resource Center. This award recognizes individuals throughout the country who are doing outstanding work in their local communities to eliminate sexual violence.


Formed in 1983, the Tennessee Coalition Against Domestic and Sexual Violence is a 501(c) (3) nonprofit organization composed of diverse community leaders and program members who share a common vision of ending violence in the lives of Tennesseans through public policy advocacy, education and activities that increase the capacity of programs and communities to address violence. For more information, visit: www.tcadsv.org.

SOURCE Tennessee Coalition Against Domestic and Sexual Violence