The Galien Foundation Announces 2013 Prix Galien USA Nominees for "Best Biotechnology Product," "Best Pharmaceutical Agent," and "Best Medical Technology"

Winners to be Recognized by Research and Academic Leaders at October 22 NYC Award Ceremony

Jul 25, 2013, 16:00 ET from Galien Foundation

NEW YORK, July 25, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- The Galien Foundation today announced the 2013 nominees for the seventh annual Prix Galien Awards. The Prix Galien Award is considered the biomedical industry's highest accolade and recognizes the technical, scientific and clinical research skills necessary to develop innovative medicines and devices.

(Logo: )

This year brings the highest number of nominees since the inception of the Prix Galien USA – a reflection of the United States continuing to lead the world in first approval of new medicines.  Ranging from a tablet drug for the treatment of metastatic colorectal cancer, to a ground-breaking treatment for cystic fibrosis, and the first and only drug available to reduce toxic plasma methotrexate levels, nominees include biomedical products that advance the human condition and which were approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) during the past five years.

Nominees for the Prix Galien USA 2013 Awards are:

Best Biotechnology Product (Nominees)

BOTOX® (onabotulinumtoxinA) for Chronic Migraine       

Allergan, Inc.    

Voraxaze® (glucarpidase)                                            

BTG International Inc.       

MenHibrix® [Meningococcal Groups C and Y and
Haemophilus b Tetanus Toxoid Conjugate Vaccine]

GlaxoSmithKline Vaccines

Erwinaze® (asparaginase Erwinia chrysanthemi)

Jazz Pharmaceuticals

FluMist® Quadrivalent

(Influenza Vaccine Live, Intranasal)                             


Zostavax® (Zoster Vaccine Live)                                   



HEMACORD™ (HPC, Cord Blood)

New York Blood Center's
Howard P. Milstein Cord Blood Center

Gattex® (teduglutide)                                                   

NPS Pharmaceuticals

Kyprolis® (carfilzomib) for Injection

Onyx Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

Gintuit™ (Allogeneic Cultured Keratinocytes and
Fibroblasts in Bovine Collagen)


Kineret® (anakinra)


Tbo-filgrastim (XM02)

Teva Pharmaceuticals

JETREA® (ocriplasmin)


Best Pharmaceutical Agent (Nominees)

AMPYRA® (dalfampridine)
Extended Release Tablets, 10 mg

Acorda Therapeutics

BELVIQ® (lorcaserin HCl)

Arena Pharmaceuticals

CAPRELSA® (vandetanib)


Stivarga® (regorafenib)

Bayer HealthCare

Eliquis® (apixaban)                                                     

Bristol-Myers Squibb & Pfizer

Banzel® (rufinamide)                                                   


Zelboraf® (vemurafenib)                                              


Sirturo® (bedaquiline)                                                  


Xarelto® (rivaroxaban)                                                


Zytiga® (abiraterone acetate)                                       


Xtandi® (enzalutamide)


XALKORI® (crizotinib)


Xeljanz® (tofacitinib)


(reformulated oxycodone HCl controlled release)

Purdue Pharma

Neupro® (Rotigotine Transdermal System)


Vimpat® (lacosamide) CV


KALYDECO™ (ivacaftor)

Vertex Pharmaceuticals

Best Medical Technology (Nominees)

(ipratropium bromide and albuterol) Inhalation Spray                                

Boehringer Ingelheim

Alair® Bronchial Thermoplasty System                         

Boston Scientific

S-ICD® System
(subcutaneous implantable defibrillator)                         

Boston Scientific

NovoTTF Therapy                                                     


coflex® Interlaminar Stabilization™ device                     

Paradigm Spine, LLC

Elecsys® Testosterone II                                             


Auvi-Q™ (epinephrine injection, USP)                            


Trevo® ProVue™ Retriever                                           





The Prix Galien USA Committee, comprised of nine renowned leaders in biomedical industry and academia, including five Nobel Laureates, is responsible for evaluating nominees. Winners will be honored at the Prix Galien Award Ceremony on October 22, 2013 at 6:00 p.m., at the American Museum of Natural History in New York City.  Registration is open to the Prix Galien USA Award Ceremony and can be accessed here.

"Biomedical research cannot exist without those who are willing to push innovation and extract understanding and attention in the details," remarked Bruno Cohen, Chairman of the Galien Foundation.  "This year's nominees are catalysts for the development of disease-altering advances through biopharmaceutical and medical innovation.  We are proud to honor those in the field who exemplify these values; the same values that the Galien Foundation continually upholds, distinguishing these awards as the best in the world."

About the Galien Foundation
The Galien Foundation fosters, recognizes and rewards excellence in scientific innovation to improve the state of human health. Our vision is to be the catalyst for the development of the next generation of innovative treatment and technologies that will impact human health and save lives.

The Foundation oversees and directs activities in the USA for the Prix Galien, an international award that recognizes outstanding achievements in improving the human condition through the development of innovative therapies. The Prix Galien was created in 1970 in honor of Galen, the father of medical science and modern pharmacology. Worldwide, the Prix Galien is regarded as the equivalent of the Nobel Prize in biopharmaceutical research.

For more information visit

Galien Foundation Media Contact:
Jon Florio

SOURCE Galien Foundation