The Hertz Foundation Selects Fifteen Young Leaders in Applied Science and Engineering to Receive Nation's Most Generous PhD Fellowships

- Financial support valued at more than $250,000 per student

Mar 31, 2011, 05:00 ET from Fannie and John Hertz Foundation

LIVERMORE, Calif., March 31, 2011 /PRNewswire/ -- The highly respected Fannie and John Hertz Foundation, giving generous support to young leaders in applied sciences and engineering, today announced selection of its 2011-2012 Hertz Fellows. The Fellowship, valued at more than $250,000 per student, goes to 15 new recipients, who will receive financial support lasting up to five years of their graduate studies.

"We are pleased to announce this year's Fellows," stated Dr. Jay Davis, Hertz Foundation President. "These men and women show extraordinary promise to carry forward the mission of this Foundation. They join the community of leaders who produce advances in science, medicine, technology, business, academia and government. Scientists and engineers are only 4% of the U.S. workforce but they account for up to 85% of the GDP. The top 1% is responsible for 90% of the important discoveries. We believe that their creativity and risk-taking bring forth innovation for the most pressing problems we face today."

The new Hertz Fellows were selected from an elite pool of 558 applicants. The fifteen include four women and eleven men. Two are members of the military, with one having completed two tours of combat duty. Computer science, electrical engineering and chemistry are found to be the prevalent areas of focus within the group. As undergraduates, three were previously awarded the prestigious Goldwater Scholarship for excellence in pursuit of careers in science, mathematics and engineering.

"Hertz Fellowships are unique, no-strings-attached fellowships, allowing the freedom to innovate," continued Davis. "Hertz Fellows pursue their own ideas with financial independence under the guidance of some of our country's finest professors and mentors. Fellows are chosen for their intellect, their ingenuity and their potential to bring meaningful improvement to society. The Hertz Foundation nurtures these remarkable scientists and engineers as they develop and explore their genius. We believe they show the most promise to change the world."

About the Hertz Foundation

Since 1963, the Fannie and John Hertz Foundation has focused on empowering young scientists and engineers with the freedom to innovate in their doctoral research. The Hertz Foundation has provided the nation's most generous PhD fellowships to nearly 1100 gifted young men and women. The highly competitive selection process includes a comprehensive written application, four references, and two rounds of technical interviews by recognized leaders in applied science and engineering. In addition to supporting the Fellows in their graduate education, the Foundation provides unique seminars, workshops and symposia that take place away from their campus environments. These gatherings expose the in-school Fellow to national leaders and researchers, many of whom are alumni Fellows of the Foundation. More information about the Hertz Foundation can be found at

New 2011-2012 Hertz Fellows, displayed by name, undergraduate or current school, and field of study, are:


Undergraduate or Current School

Field of Study

Megan Blewett

Harvard University


Thomas Dean

U.S. Military Academy at West Point

Electrical Engineering

Robin Deits

Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Jesse Engreitz

Harvard/Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Quantitative Biology

Grant Gillary

U.S. Naval Academy


Max Kleinman-Weiner

Oxford University/Stanford

Applied Statistics

Kyle Loh

Rutgers University

Chemical Biology

Katie Maass

University of Texas, Austin

Chemical Engineering

Stephen Miller

University of California, Berkeley

Electrical Engineering/Computer Science

Cameron Myhrvold

Princeton University

Molecular Biology

Kay Ousterhout

Princeton University

Computer Science

Nevada Sanchez

Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Mollie Schwartz

Columbia University

Chemical Physics

Thomas Hale Segall-Shapiro

University of California, Berkeley/San Francisco


Max Schulaker

Stanford University

Electrical Engineering

SOURCE Fannie and John Hertz Foundation