The National Safety Council Invites Applicants for 2010 Robert W. Campbell Award

Jan 07, 2010, 11:15 ET from National Safety Council

ITASCA, Ill., Jan. 7 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The National Safety Council invites businesses around the world to apply for the 2010 Robert W. Campbell Award, the world's pre-eminent award recognizing excellence in business performance, employee safety and health, and environmental stewardship. The 2010 winners will be announced at NSC's Congress & Expo, Oct. 3-8 in San Diego.

"The Campbell Award recognizes companies that demonstrate that environmental, health and safety (EHS) management is an essential element in achieving operational excellence and financial success," said Janet Froetscher, president & CEO of NSC. "Campbell Award winners prove that integrated EHS systems reduce workplace injuries and deaths, improve the bottom line, and motivate and inspire others."

Awards are presented in two categories: Businesses with more than 1,000 employees and businesses with less than 1,000 employees. Winners are selected by an international panel of experts in academia, government, labor and management. These experts provide each applicant with a written evaluation report for further improvement. Winning Campbell case studies also are discussed in boardrooms and classrooms worldwide.

Past winners include Noble Corp., Johnson & Johnson, Alcan Inc., DynMcDermott Petroleum Operations Co., The Bahrain Petroleum Co., Fluor Hanford, Gulf Petrochemical Industries Co. and Schneider Electric North America.

The Campbell Award ( is named for Robert W. Campbell, an early safety advocate and the first president of NSC. The award is sponsored by NSC and underwritten by ExxonMobil Foundation.

To download an application packet, please visit Final submissions must be postmarked by May 31, 2010.

The National Safety Council ( saves lives by preventing injuries and deaths at work, in homes and communities, and on the roads, through leadership, research, education and advocacy.

SOURCE National Safety Council