The University of Advancing Technology Announces Dr. Lynn Margulis as the 2010 Inductee Into the Leonardo da Vinci Society for the Study of Thinking

Jun 03, 2010, 08:00 ET from The University of Advancing Technology

TEMPE, Ariz., June 3 /PRNewswire/ -- The University of Advancing Technology (UAT), a leading innovator in education focused on new and emerging technologies, has named Dr. Lynn Margulis, renowned theoretical biologist, author and distinguished University Professor at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, as the 2010 inductee in the Leonardo da Vinci Society for the Study of Thinking.

Dr. Margulis' revolutionary work in biology earned her prestige in the field with her theory on the origin of eukaryotic organelles, and her contributions to the endosymbiotic theory. Heralded as a modern Charles Darwin, she has authored more than 130 scientific articles and 10 books.  She is a leading proponent of Gaia Theory, which states that all life, as well as the oceans, the atmosphere, and the earth itself are parts of a single, all-encompassing symbiosis and may fruitfully be considered as elements of a single organism.  

Dominic Pistillo, founder of the University of Advancing Technology has said, "At UAT we strive not only to provide an enriching educational environment, but to raise the bar with innovation, systems thinking and programming that will carry us through the 21st century. In that regard, we are honored to be able to present such a distinguished thinker as Dr. Lynn Margulis with the Da Vinci Medallion."

Dr. Margulis was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 1983. The Library of Congress, Washington, D.C., announced in 1998 that it will permanently archive her papers. She received the Presidential Medal of Science in 1999.

Her publications, spanning a wide range of scientific topics, include original contributions to cell biology and microbial evolution. The most recent include, "Symbiotic Planet: A new look at evolution" and "Acquiring Genomes: A theory of the origins of species," co-written with Dorion Sagan. Dr. Margulis is also acknowledged for her contribution to James E. Lovelock's Gaia Theory that the earth's surface interactions among living beings, soil, air and water have created a vast self-regulating system.

UAT created the Da Vinci Society to honor the world's leading thinkers. In 2005, the inaugural medal was awarded to Professor Edward de Bono, regarded by many as the leading authority in the world in the field of creative thinking and in the direct teaching of thinking as a skill. Drs. Margaret Wheatley and Fritjof Capra were added as members in 2006 and 2007 respectively for their work in systems theory.  Dr. Michio Kaku, renowned physicist, accepted this distinguished honor in 2008. As did Ray Kurzweil, leading technologist, inventor and author, in 2009.

About UAT: The University of Advancing Technology is a unique, private college that serves its student body by fostering knowledge creation and academic excellence in an environment that embraces the young technophiles of the world. With three centers of research and a suite of technology-centered undergraduate and graduate degrees, the University is a recognized leader in technology education.

For more information, please visit:

SOURCE The University of Advancing Technology