United States Mint to Launch Mount Rushmore Quarter November 6

Oct 23, 2013, 15:52 ET from United States Mint

WASHINGTON, Oct. 23, 2013 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Join officials from the United States Mint and the National Park Service for the official launch of the Mount Rushmore National Memorial quarter on November 6, 2013.  The ceremony will take place at the National Guard Armory in Custer, South Dakota, at 10 a.m. Mountain Time (MT).  Invited guests include Governor Dennis Daugaard and U.S. Representative Kristi Noem.  Highlights of the free event include a coin exchange where the public can swap their cash for $10 rolls of the new Mount Rushmore National Memorial quarter. 

WHAT:  Mount Rushmore Quarter Launch Ceremony and Coin Exchange           

WHO: U.S. Representative Kristi Noem (invited)
Governor Dennis Daugaard (invited)
United States Mint Acting Associate Director of Manufacturing David Croft
Mount Rushmore National Memorial Superintendent Cheryl A Schreier
Custer Chamber of Commerce Executive Director David Ressler

WHEN:  Wednesday, November 6, 2013, 10 a.m. MT

WHERE: National Guard Armory
527 Montgomery Street
Custer, SD  57730

Coin Forum
The evening before the launch ceremony — Tuesday, November 5, at 5:30 p.m. (MT) — the United States Mint will host a coin forum at the Mount Rushmore National Memorial Carver's Café, 13000 Highway 244, Keystone, SD 57751.  The coin forum is an opportunity for the public to express their views about future coinage, and to learn about upcoming United States Mint coin programs and initiatives.

The Mount Rushmore National Memorial quarter is the 20th coin the America the Beautiful Quarters® Program, a 12-year initiative to honor 56 national parks and other national sites authorized by Public Law 110-456.  Each year, the public will see five new national sites depicted on the reverse (tails side) of the America the Beautiful Quarters.  The United States Mint is issuing these quarters in the order in which the honored site was first established as a national site. 


SOURCE United States Mint