University of Oregon School of Journalism and Communication and Jim Murray Memorial Foundation Journalism Scholarship Program Unite

Feb 19, 2016, 20:38 ET from Jim Murray Memorial Foundation

LOS ANGELES, Feb. 19, 2016 /PRNewswire/ -- The Jim Murray Memorial Foundation (JMMF) announces the addition of The University of Oregon (UO) to its journalism scholarship program. UO is now one of 32 journalism schools around the country that will compete for the five $5,000 scholarships offered by the JMMF through its national essay competition. To date, the JMMF has awarded 99 scholarships totaling over $500,000.

Thanks to JMMF Board member Neil Everett, ESPN SportsCenter co-anchor and University of Oregon alumnus, for making the JMMF connection possible.

Julianne H. Newton, interim Edwin L. Artzt Dean and Professor at the University of Oregon School of Journalism and Communication (SOJC), said, "The UO School of Journalism and Communication is dedicated to ethics, innovation and action. Our students not only win top awards – they also manifest the 'spirit of journalistic integrity and creativity' of Jim Murray's legacy. We are honored to be among the universities whose students compete to be Murray Scholars."

The Sports Media Workshop originated as a collaborative program between UO SOJC and UO Athletics. The rigorous workshop brings D1 athletes and journalism majors together to learn both sides of the sports storytelling experience. Participants say the academic and athletic collaboration is a transformational experience and one of the most memorable parts of their education at the UO.

"Fostering relationships with faculty members at the journalism schools is the key to achieving our goal to provide annual scholarships to journalism students nationwide," said Linda Murray Hofmans, CEO & Founder of the Jim Murray Memorial Foundation. "The JMMF is extremely proud to add the University of Oregon to its scholarship program and we thank Neil for bringing us together."

Murray Hofmans established the 501(c)(3) nonprofit Jim Murray Memorial Foundation to honor her late husband's legacy and his extraordinary career in journalism. Murray joined the Los Angeles Times in February 1961. He won a Pulitzer Prize for Commentary in 1990 and was named National Sportswriter of the Year 14 times. His meritorious contributions to baseball writing landed him a spot in the writers' wing of Cooperstown (NY) Baseball Hall of Fame in 1988. Murray died August 16, 1998 at his home in Los Angeles, CA.

For more information, please contact Rachel Brady at or 760-776-1766. For donations, please contact the Jim Murray Memorial Foundation at email


SOURCE Jim Murray Memorial Foundation