William Shatner to Host 37th Annual Annie Awards - February 6 at UCLA's Royce Hall

Jan 25, 2010, 11:00 ET from ASIFA-Hollywood

BURBANK, Calif., Jan. 25 /PRNewswire/ -- ASIFA-Hollywood is proud to announce the Emmy and Golden Globe-winning actor, director, producer and one of pop culture's most recognizable figures, William Shatner, will host the 37th Annual Annie Awards on Saturday, February 6, 2010, at UCLA's Royce Hall in Los Angeles, CA.  The black-tie evening begins with a pre-reception at 5 p.m. followed by the Annie Awards ceremony at 7 p.m. and post award party at 10 p.m.  All events will be held at Royce Hall.  The Annie Awards ceremony will also be webcasted on www.annieawards.org beginning Tuesday, February 9, 2010.  For tickets and up-to-the minute information on the 37th Annual Annie Awards, please visit www.annieawards.org.  Media inquiries and credentials, please contact Gretchen Houser, Houser PR at 562.235.0991 or Gretchen@houserpr.com.

In honor of the year's best in animation, Shatner will be joined on stage by a lively mix of animation luminaries, celebrity presenters and comedic talent including animation legend June Foray. "ASIFA-Hollywood is honored to have William Shatner host this year's Annie Awards," says ASIFA-Hollywood President Antran Manoogian.  "We are looking forward to Mr. Shatner's unique and commanding presence presiding over the show."

Walt Disney Animation Studios' "The Princess and the Frog" received eight nominations, including Best Animated Feature and individual nominations for animated effects, character animation, production design and voice acting, while its "Prep and Landing" received nine nominations including Best Animated Television Production and individual nominations for character animation, character design, music, production design, storyboarding and writing.

DreamWorks Animation received 11 nominations, including Best Animated Television Production for "Merry Madagascar."  Laika received a total of 10 nominations including Best Animated Feature "Coraline" and Pixar Animation Studios received a total of nine nominations including Best Animated Feature "Up."  Completing the list of Best Animated Features nominated are: "Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs," Sony Pictures Animation, "Fantastic Mr. Fox," 20th Century Fox and "The Secret of Kells," Cartoon Saloon.

Often a predictor of the annual Academy Award for Best Animated Feature, the Annie Awards recognize the year's best animated features, television productions, commercials, short subjects and outstanding individual achievements in the field of animation. Entries submitted for consideration were from productions that originally aired, were exhibited in an animation festival or commercially released between January 1, 2008 and December 31, 2009.

Created in 1972 by veteran voice talent June Foray, the Annie Awards have grown in scope and stature for the past three decades, and is considered the highest and most prestigious honor given in animation by the animation industry.  Today ASIFA-Hollywood, the largest chapter of the international organization ASIFA, supports a range of animation activities and preservation efforts through its membership. Current initiatives include the Animation Archive, animation film preservation, special events, classes and screenings.