Winners Announced in International Writers of the Future Contest

1st Quarter Winners are from the East and West Coast

Jun 03, 2010, 12:30 ET from L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest

HOLLYWOOD, Calif., June 3 /PRNewswire/ -- The 1st Quarter winners of the 27th year of the L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest were announced today by Joni Labaqui, contest Director.

The Writers of the Future contest was started in 1983 by L. Ron Hubbard "to discover and provide talented new and aspiring writers of science fiction and fantasy a chance to have their work seen and acknowledged."


1st Place - Brennan Harvey of Huntington Beach, California

2nd Place - David D'Amico of Salem, Massachusetts

3rd Place - Ryan Harvey of Los Angeles, California

Brennan, David and Ryan were chosen from a group of 8 finalists and are now awarded cash prizes, a week long intensive workshop, an awards ceremony and are also published in the annual L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future.

A Grand Prize winner is announced at the annual awards ceremony in August and is selected by another panel of judges. Brennan will now compete with the other first place winners from the first three quarters for the grand prize of $5,000.00.

Well-known contest judges include multiple Nebula and Hugo Award winners and finalists such as Kevin J. Anderson, Orson Scott Card, Anne McCaffrey, Larry Niven, Jerry Pournelle, Tim Powers, Robert J. Sawyer, Robert Silverberg, Dave Wolverton, Sean Williams, Rebecca Moesta, K.D. Wentworth, Kristine Kathryn Rusch, Dean Wesley Smith, Eric Flint and Mike Resnick, just to name a few.

For more information about the contest, go to

On the home page click on "contest rules."

SOURCE L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest