Global Energy Prize's International Media Competition Opens

Energy of Word Award for Best Coverage of Energy Related Issues Open to Journalists Worldwide

Mar 03, 2011, 08:29 ET from Global Energy Prize

LONDON, March 3, 2011 /PRNewswire/ -- Journalists and their media organisations around the world are invited to submit entries for the Global Energy Prize's Energy of Word award at The prize is open to writers who submit published work in any language which tells a captivating and illuminating story in the field of Energy.

The competition aims to reward those who contribute to public awareness of the energy challenges faced worldwide and scientific innovations which provide new energy efficiencies. Entries are evaluated for their depth, objectivity, style, and relevance to society. This includes articles, opinion pieces, interviews and photojournalism published in journals, magazines and newspapers (including those published online), as well as radio and television programmes and documentary films. Entries do not need to reference the Global Energy Prize or any of its sponsors, and may have been published at any time between 1 March 2010 and 1 March 2011.

Applications will be accepted until March 20th 2011 and winners will be announced in April 2011. Submitting work for consideration takes only a few minutes, candidates can enter here: Winners receive a week-long all-expenses-paid trip to St Petersburg, Russia, in June 2011 and an exclusive interview with a Russian VIP, yet to be determined.

The Energy of Word award winner's trip to Russia will include the opportunity to attend events associated with the Global Energy Prize Laureates' Week (13-19 June) and the St Petersburg International Economic Forum (16-18 June). This will include an invitation to attend the Global Energy Award Ceremony, which is presided over by the President of Russia.

The Energy of Word award was established by the organisers of the Global Energy Prize, one of the world's most respected awards in energy development, awarding US$1m annually for scientific breakthroughs and bringing international recognition to energy efficiency innovators. The degree to which a development contributes to the benefit of humanity is a key driver in deciding the recipient of the prize. Since its inception in 2002, the Global Energy Prize has been granted to 22 scientists from around the globe, including past laureates from Great Britain, Iceland, Canada, Russia, the US, France, Germany and Japan.

    Media Contacts:

    Glen Cameron or Laura Suisted

SOURCE Global Energy Prize