Got Bone-Breaking Stories? Calling all Reporters, Writers, Producers and Editors

Jun 30, 2010, 15:16 ET from American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons

MORE (Media Orthopaedic Reporting Excellence) Awards Call for Entries is now OPEN

ROSEMONT, Ill., June 30 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) has opened the call for submissions to its sixth annual MORE Awards.  These awards recognize excellence in accurate reporting on musculoskeletal health issues and healthy behaviors in the care of bones and joints.  The Academy invites all journalists to submit their top-notch stories of prevention, treatment and recovery on musculoskeletal issues.

Have you recently written or reported on any of the following?

  • Boomeritis
  • Hip resurfacing
  • Joint replacement
  • Osteoporosis or arthritis
  • Youth sports injuries
  • Military or war-related extremity injuries
  • Injury or fall prevention
  • Stem cells and cartilage repair

MORE Awards will be given to stories written for a CONSUMER audience in the following categories:

  • National Consumer Print Journalism: newspapers, magazines
  • Local Consumer Print Journalism:  newspapers, magazines
  • National Broadcast Journalism:  television, radio
  • Local Broadcast Journalism:  television, radio
  • Internet-specific Consumer Journalism: stories created exclusively for an online audience
  • Advocacy:  newspapers, magazines, Internet, television, radio
    • Entries submitted in the Advocacy category recognize excellence in reporting musculoskeletal health programs at the federal, state and local levels as well as emphasize the importance of research funding for the advancement of orthopaedics.  

The entry deadline is Friday, October 29, 2010.  Entries must have been published or broadcast between October 1, 2009 and October 1, 2010.  The rules and entry form – open to all journalists, freelance writers and editors in print, online or broadcast media – are accessible at

"Part of the AAOS' mission is to champion the interests of patients, therefore we cannot overstate the value of the media as our partner in helping us teach the public about accurate orthopaedic issues and conditions," stated Academy president John Callaghan, MD.  "The MORE Awards are designed to recognize journalists whose thoughtful, strategic and well-researched work helps us inform and educate the public in this way."

The MORE Awards will be presented in Washington, DC at the Academy's National Orthopaedic Leadership Conference in April 2011.  

To see a complete list of winners:  2010 Winners, 2009 Winners, 2008 Winners.

Last year's MORE Awards winners include:

  • Judy Silverman, NBC News      
  • Terry Sanders, American Film Foundation
  • Karen Trosset, Today Show
  • Lauren Cox,
  • Jonathan Fahey, Forbes magazine

About AAOS

SOURCE American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons