MIT Technology Review Announces Annual Innovators Under 35 List

Aug 21, 2013, 10:30 ET from MIT Technology Review

CAMBRIDGE, Mass., Aug. 21, 2013 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Today MIT Technology Review reveals its list of 35 top young innovators ( For more than a decade, the global media company has recognized a list of exceptionally talented technologists whose work has great potential to transform the world.


The list has become an important recognition among startups, in industry, and in academia. Candidates are nominated online or by an editor. A panel of judges—experts in different fields, who may be past winners themselves—assess the candidates, seeking a mixture of individuals that represents current trends in technology and the diversity of innovation around the globe.

"Over the years, we've had success in choosing women and men whose innovations and companies have been profoundly influential on the direction of human affairs," says editor in chief and publisher Jason Pontin. "Previous winners include Larry Page and Sergey Brin, the cofounders of Google; Mark Zuckerberg, the cofounder of Facebook; Jonathan Ive, the chief designer of Apple; and David Karp, the creator of Tumblr. We're proud of our selections and the variety of achievements they celebrate."

This year's honorees will be featured online at starting today, and in the September/October print magazine, which hits newsstands worldwide on September 3. They will appear in person at the upcoming EmTech MIT conference from October 9–11 in Cambridge, Massachusetts (


Dmitri Alperovitch


Leah Busque


Anthony Goldbloom


Dmitry Grishin Group

Ben Milne


Bright Simons

mPedigree Network

Balaji Srinivasan



Caroline Buckee

Harvard University

Rebeca Hwang


Enrique Lomnitz

Isla Urbana

Evans Wadongo

Sustainable Development For All-Kenya

Amos Winter



Vijay Balasubramaniyan

Pindrop Security

David Fattal

HP Labs

Christine Fleming

Columbia University

Hao Li

University of Southern California

Markus Persson


Morgan Quigley

Open Source Robotics Foundation

Kira Radinsky


Matt Rogers



Bowen Zhao


John Dabiri


Leslie Dewan

Transatomic Power

Roozbeh Ghaffari


Kuniharu Takei

Osaka Prefecture University

Feng Zhang

Broad Institute

Liangfang Zhang

University of California, San Diego

Xiaolin Zheng

Stanford University


Julie Kientz

University of Washington

Per Ola Kristensson

University of St Andrews

Eric Migicovsky


Lina Nilsson

Tekla Labs

Steve Ramirez


Laura Schewel

StreetLight Data

Yu Zheng

Microsoft Research

About MIT Technology Review
MIT Technology Review leads the global conversation about technologies that matter. An independent media company owned by MIT, it produces publications read by millions of business leaders, innovators, and  thought leaders around the globe, in six languages and on a variety of platforms. The company publishes MIT Technology Review, the world′s most respected technology magazine; daily news features, analysis, and opinion; and Business Reports, which explain how technologies are transforming industries. It produces live events such as the annual EmTech MIT, international EmTech conferences, Summits, and Salons. The company's entrepreneurial community organization, MIT Enterprise Forum, hosts 400+ events a year around the world.

For MIT Technology Review:

David W.M. Sweeney

MIT Technology Review 


SOURCE MIT Technology Review