NSU President George L. Hanbury II is New Sunshine State Conference President

Jul 26, 2013, 10:36 ET from Nova Southeastern University

WINTER PARK, Fla. and FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla., July 26, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- Nova Southeastern University (NSU) announced today that Dr. George L. Hanbury II, president and chief executive officer of NSU, has assumed the role of president of the Sunshine State Conference (SSC) for the 2013-14 and 2014-15 academic terms.

Hanbury succeeds Dr. Kevin M. Ross, President of Lynn University, who completed a two-year term. In his new role as conference president, Hanbury will act as chair of the SSC Presidents Council, working closely with conference commissioner Jay Jones and the presidents of the league's other eight member institutions.

Dr. Hanbury is the sixth president of Nova Southeastern University. He assumed his post in July 2011. Prior to his appointment, he served 12 years as NSU's chief operating officer and executive vice president.

One of Dr. Hanbury's first accomplishments as President at NSU was establishing eight core values to guide the university: academic excellence, student centered, integrity, innovation, opportunity, scholarship/research, diversity, and community.

Located in Winter Park, Florida, the Sunshine State Conference is the only NCAA conference headquartered in the state of Florida. Its nine member institutions, all located within the state, are: Barry University (Miami Shores), Eckerd College (St. Petersburg), Florida Southern College (Lakeland), Florida Institute of Technology (Melbourne), Lynn University (Boca Raton), Nova Southeastern University (Fort Lauderdale), Rollins College (Winter Park), Saint Leo University (Saint Leo), and the University of Tampa.

The SSC sponsors 17 intercollegiate sports that compete in NCAA Division II. More than 2,000 student-athletes participate in men's and women's cross country, men's and women's soccer, volleyball, men's and women's basketball, men's and women's swimming, men's and women's golf, men's and women's tennis, baseball, softball, and women's rowing, and men's lacrosse. SSC schools have won 84 NCAA Division II national championships, and the league is the top-rated academic conference in Division II.

For the latest NSU news and results, be sure to visit www.NSUSharks.com.

Tweet #GoNSUSharks

For more information on NSU, visit: www.nova.edu

About Nova Southeastern University
Situated on 300 beautiful acres in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida, Nova Southeastern University (NSU) is a dynamic fully accredited research institution dedicated to providing high-quality educational programs at all levels.  NSU is a not-for-profit independent institution with 27,000 students. NSU awards associate's, bachelor's, master's, specialist, doctoral and first-professional degrees in a wide range of fields. NSU is classified as a research university with "high research activity" by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, and it's one of only 37 universities nationwide to also be awarded Carnegie's Community Engagement Classification. For more information on NSU, visit: www.nova.edu

SOURCE Nova Southeastern University