Rio Rancho Resident Is State Truck Driving Champion

Jun 23, 2010, 14:40 ET from American Trucking Associations

Nine Drivers Continue on to National Competition

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M., June 23 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Kirk Weis, of Rio Rancho, was named the best professional truck driver in New Mexico after winning the straight truck competition and receiving the highest overall score in the nine competing categories at the 2010 New Mexico Truck Driving Championships. The annual event is sponsored by New Mexico Trucking Association.



Weis, who drives for ABF Freight System, now qualifies to compete in the American Trucking Associations' National Truck Driving Championships August 3-7, 2010 in Columbus, Ohio -- also known as the "Super Bowl of Safety." The winners from each of the eight other categories are also eligible to compete in the national championship.  

Nearly 400 drivers from all 50 states will compete in Columbus for four days, challenging their driving skills, and knowledge of safety, equipment and the industry. From 18-wheeler five axle sleepers to tank trucks to twin trailers -- they will drive a course that recreates situations truck drivers face daily. These maneuvers may include: an alley dock, a rear line stop, a side park, a scale stop, a right turn, a front line stop, and straight line driving through a diminishing clearance.

On Saturday night, August 7, one contestant will drive away as the 2010 National Grand Champion Truck Driver.

"The Truck Driving Championships represent the culmination of the industry's dedication to safety," said New Mexico Trucking Association Managing Director Vic Sheppard. "I congratulate all the contestants and I hope New Mexico cheers for our drivers as they move on to Nationals in Columbus."

New Mexico participants at National for each category include:

Kirk Weis, ABF Freight System, Rio Rancho, N.M. (Straight Truck)

Jose Mora, Con-way Freight, Albuquerque, N.M. (Three-Axle)

Carlos Sandoval, Con-way Freight, Albuquerque, N.M. (Four-Axle)

Steve Limas, ABF Freight System, Belen, N.M. (Five-Axle)

Ralph Garcia, ABF Freight System, Rio Rancho, N.M. (Five-Axle Sleeper)

Tom Fullerton, Con-way Freight, Edgewood, N.M. (Tankers)

Michael Contreras, ABF Freight System, Los Lunas, N.M. (Flatbed)

Tony Vigil, Con-way Freight. Albuquerque, N.M. (Twins)

Chris Shaw, FedEx Express, Albuquerque, N.M. (Step Van)

ATA's Truck Driving Championships include top professional truck drivers from around the nation competing at state and regional levels to make it to the national competition Aug. 3-7 in Columbus, Ohio. The NTDC annually attracts over 2,000 cheering friends, family, colleagues and spectators. For more information, visit the 2010 National Truck Driving Championships website:

The American Trucking Associations is the largest national trade association for the trucking industry. Through a federation of other trucking groups, industry-related conferences, and its 50 affiliated state trucking associations, ATA represents more than 37,000 members covering every type of motor carrier in the United States.

The American Trucking Associations, including New Mexico Trucking Association, leads the effort for safer highways, focusing on greater education, enforcement and enhancement of traffic safety laws for all drivers. ATA also supports slowing down traffic through a reinstatement of a national maximum speed limit of 65 mph for all vehicles and limiting truck speeds at the time of manufacture.

SOURCE American Trucking Associations