Nominations Announced for Annual Society of Camera Operators Awards for Camera Operator of the Year -- Feature Film and Television Awards Celebration to Take Place February 15, 2014 at Skirball Cultural Center

LOS ANGELES, Jan. 9, 2014 /PRNewswire/ -- The Society of Camera Operators (SOC) will present its Camera Operator of the Year Awards at their Annual Awards Event, as announced today by SOC Vice President and Awards Executive Producer David Frederick, SOC. The black-tie celebration announcing the winners will be held on February 15, 2014 at the Skirball Cultural Center. The SOC donates all proceeds from the Awards Event to the Vision Center at Children's Hospital Los Angeles to help children overcome vision deficits.

(Logo: )

As previously announced, this year's Lifetime Achievement Award recipients are Chris Haarhoff, SOC/Camera Operator (Saving Private Ryan, Fight Club, Almost Famous), William Coe/Camera Technician (The Avengers, J. Edgar, Jersey Boys), Barry Wetcher, SMPSP/Still Photographer (Goodfellas, Quiz Show, Sherlock Holmes) and Jack Carpenter/Mobile Camera Platform Operator (Mr. and Mrs. Smith, Crash, The Matrix). The Distinguished Service Award recipient is Stan McClain, SOC (National Security, Almost Famous, Any Given Sunday). The President's Award Recipient is Leonard Chapman, who has developed and improved equipment for moving cameras.


Camera Operator of the Year - Feature Film
Ian Fox, SOC - Saving Mr. Banks (Walt Disney Studio Motion Pictures)
Geoffrey Haley, SOC - American Hustle (Columbia Pictures)
Jacques Jouffret, SOC ­- Lone Survivor (Universal Studios)
P. Scott Sakamoto, SOC - Labor Day (Paramount Pictures)
Peter Taylor, ACO, SOC - Gravity (Warner Bros. Pictures)

Camera Operator of the Year - Television
Nicholas Davidoff, SOC - Homeland (HBO)
Don Devine, SOC - Mad Men (AMC)
Steve Fracol, SOC - Scandal (ABC)
Kenji Luster, SOC - Body of Proof (ABC)
James Reid, SOC - American Horror Story: Asylum (FX Networks)

The prestigious Camera Operator of the Year Awards are presented to the best of the nominated Feature Film and Television shows of 2013. The active camera operators of the SOC submit their nominations and vote on the final nominees to decide the recipients for the two categories of the award, film and television. Previous winners include Andrew Voegeli, SOC (Breaking Bad), Mitch Dubin, SOC (Lincoln), Andrew Mitchell, SOC (Glee), Stephen Campanelli, SOC (J.Edgar), David Frederick, SOC (Sons of Anarchy), Colin Anderson, SOC (The Town), Robert Gorelick, SOC (The Dark Knight), and Jacques Jouffret, SOC (Into the Wild).

The Society of Camera Operator's Lifetime Achievement Award, the 'CAMMY,' honors the career of an outstanding camera crew member. The Technical Achievement Award is presented to a member in the corporate community for their contributions to the advancement of equipment and techniques vital to the work of Camera Operators. The President's Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to an industry stalwart for their support to camera operators.

Dan Dodd, IngleDodd Media

David Frederick, SOC Awards Executive Producer

Weissman/Markovitz Communications
Cheri Warner, Kaytee Long
Tel: 818.760.8995

Read more news from Society of Camera Operators.

SOURCE Society of Camera Operators


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.


PR Newswire Membership

Fill out a PR Newswire membership form or contact us at (888) 776-0942.

Learn about PR Newswire services

Request more information about PR Newswire products and services or call us at (888) 776-0942.