Adm. William H. McRaven and the U.S. Special Operations Troops To Receive 2012 American Patriot Award

Nov 15, 2012, 08:30 ET from National Defense University Foundation

Adm. McRaven to Accept Honor on Behalf of Troops at 11th Annual National Defense University Gala

Award Coincides with USSOCOM's 25th Anniversary

WASHINGTON, Nov. 15, 2012 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The National Defense University Foundation will present the men and women of the U.S. Special Operations Command (USSOCOM), the prestigious American Patriot Award.  Admiral William H. McRaven, USSOCOM commander, will accept the award, which celebrates inspired leadership and selfless national devotion, on behalf of the thousands of men and women who make up the Special Operations Forces. USSOCOM has been active for 25 years as a joint unified command and is headquartered at MacDill Air Force Base, Florida.

A crowd of over 600 guests will attend tonight's award Gala at the Ronald Regan Building and International Trade Center in Washington, DC, including some of Washington's most influential leaders. Admiral Michael Mullen, USN (Ret), former Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, will deliver the tribute speech. Award-winning journalist, Leon Harris from ABC7/WJLA-TV, will serve as the Master of Ceremonies. Notable guests at the Gala will include senior Administration officials, Members of Congress, senior military officers, ambassadors, and corporate and community leaders.

"All Americans are safer today thanks to the men and women of U.S. Special Operations Command.  We are honoring them for being active and brave participants in the ongoing global war against terrorist networks," says Albert C. Zimmerman, Chairman of the Board of Directors of the National Defense University Foundation, who will present the award.

"This award is a tribute to the bravery, devotion to duty and sacrifice of the 66,000 men and women from all services that make up U.S. Special Operations Forces and serve the nation every day in more than 70 countries around the world," says Admiral McRaven. 

Past recipients of the American Patriot Award include: Senators Joseph Lieberman and John McCain, former President George H.W. Bush, General Colin Powell, USA (Ret), Dr. Henry Kissinger, former Secretary of Defense Robert M. Gates;  General David H. Petraeus, USA, and the Extraordinary Men and Women of CENTCOM; Senator Bob Dole; Senator John W. Warner and Representative Ike Skelton; Senators Daniel Inouye and Ted Stevens; Astronaut and Senator John Glenn; former Secretary of Defense Caspar Weinberger; and the Men and Women of our Nation's Defense Team.

The Gala benefits the National Defense University and its crucial mission of preparing military and civilian leaders from the U.S. and allied countries to examine national and international security challenges through multidisciplinary educational and research programs, professional exchanges, and outreach.  The main campus is located at Fort McNair in Washington, D.C.

The National Defense University Foundation is a non-profit organization that has provided private sector support for the NDU in mission-oriented areas for 30 years. Additionally, in collaboration with the NDU, the Foundation develops and manages outreach programs that help educate and engage the public for a better understanding of critical national security issues and the vital role NDU plays in addressing them.  For more information, visit

American Patriot Award Gala - 11/15/12  6:30 pm – 10:30pm

  • The Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center
  • 1300 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20004
  • Media must enter via the 13 ½ Street entrance (between 13th & 12th Streets NW on Pennsylvania Ave)

SOURCE National Defense University Foundation