AFCEA Announces The 2013 Distinguished Young AFCEAN And Emerging Leader Award Winners

FAIRFAX, Va., Feb. 4, 2013 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- AFCEA International is pleased to announce the 2013 Young AFCEAN of the Year, Distinguished Young AFCEAN (DYA) and Emerging Leader Award winners.

These awards were presented on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 at the West 2013 Conference in San Diego, CA. For more information visit  

The DYA Award recognizes and rewards exceptional performance in two areas – a record of going "above and beyond" at the local AFCEA Chapter level, and superior technical achievement in the professional arena. 

The AFCEA Regional Vice Presidents have the honor to personally select an individual from their Region to receive the Regional DYA Award. These honorees represent an elite group of individuals that have gone above and beyond for their Chapters. These honorees are also eligible to win the Young AFCEAN of the Year Award.


MSgt Kiyon Buckley, USAF
U.S. Air Force
Texas Region


2Lt Christopher Arnold, USAF
85th Engineering Installation Squadron
Mid-South Region

Anne Wilson Celestin
Aerotek, Inc.
Western Region

Corinne Combeau
The Goal Inc.
National Capital Region

Matthew Deutsch
New England – Upstate New York Region       

Adrian Felts
Virginia Region

SSgt Eric M. Garcia, USAF
51st Combat Communications Squadron
Georgia Region

Tim Jahnigen
Maryland Region

Kashif Janjua
38th Cyberspace Engineering Installation Group
Great Plains – Rocky Mountain Region

Aaron Jones
Lockheed Martin
South Florida Region

Andrea Julius
Carolinas Region

1Lt Robert M. Lee, USAF
693rd Intelligence Support Squadron
Central Europe Region

1LT James P. Micciche, USA
Alpha Company 307 ESB
Pacific Region

Aaron Miller
Wright State Research Institute
Mid-West Region


Nikolas Acheson
ClearEdge IT Solutions, LLC
Central Maryland Chapter

Ashley Becker
Booz Allen Hamilton
Belvoir Chapter

Jesse Cosme
South Florida Chapter

Ryan Fedell
Aerotek, Inc.
Hampton Roads Chapter

Jessica Gressett
Northern Virginia Chapter

Capt Thomas C.  Hamlyn, USAF
2nd Air Postal Squadron
Kaiserslautern Chapter

Stacy Kauffman
Beacon Associates, Inc.
Aberdeen Chapter

Tamar Mintz
MetroStar Systems
Bethesda Chapter

Sharon Morrisey
HQ US Army Forces Command
North Carolina Chapter

SSgt Andrea M. Murray, USAF
Greater Omaha Chapter

Stephan Nadeau
Lexington-Concord Chapter

LCDR David Pereira, USN
Hampton Roads Chapter

MSgt Neil Stewart, USAF
PEO for Business Systems
Montgomery Chapter

1Lt Heather Vander Wyst, USAF
4th Communications Squadron
Vandenberg-Central Coast Chapter

Scott Vines
Logic Nation
ArkLaTex Chapter

Capt Joseph Watson, USAF
83 NOS Detachment 4
Kaiserslautern Chapter


The Emerging Leader Award is given for exceptional service to AFCEA at the local and/or international level, and is presented to someone who has demonstrated continuous leadership in Young AFCEAN activities since winning their DYA award.

Michael Bowen
Praxis Engineering
Aberdeen Chapter

Anne-Stewart Downer
Northrop Grumman
Bethesda Chapter

Kameke Mitchell
U.S. Air Force
Montgomery Chapter

Capt Charles O'Connor, USAF
D-RAPCON Program Manager
Lexington-Concord Chapter

Bethany Reese
Hilton San Antonio Airport
Alamo Chapter

MSgt Todd Weingeroff, USAF
86th Communications Squadron
Kaiserslautern Chapter

Mary Allison Yourchisin
Intelligent Decisions
Tampa-St. Petersburg Chapter

AFCEA International, established in 1946, is a non-profit organization serving its members by providing a forum for the ethical exchange of information, and dedicated to increasing knowledge through the exploration of issues relevant to its members in information technology, communications and electronics for the defense, homeland security and intelligence communities.

SOURCE AFCEA International


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.


PR Newswire Membership

Fill out a PR Newswire membership form or contact us at (888) 776-0942.

Learn about PR Newswire services

Request more information about PR Newswire products and services or call us at (888) 776-0942.