Bestselling 39 Clues Author Peter Lerangis Writes Epic Adventure Series For HarperCollins

- SEVEN WONDERS BOOK 1: THE COLOSSUS RISES publishes worldwide February 2013 -

- Free original ebook THE SEVEN WONDERS JOURNALS: THE SELECT available December 2012 -

Sep 12, 2012, 14:05 ET from HarperCollins Publishers

NEW YORK, Sept. 12, 2012 /PRNewswire/ -- HarperCollins Publishers announced today the forthcoming worldwide publication of Seven Wonders, a gripping new seven-book series by Peter Lerangis, author of three books in the New York Times bestselling series The 39 Clues. This multifaceted program includes seven hardcovers, which release once every nine months starting February 2013, original novellas available seven weeks before each new hardcover title starting December 2012, and an interactive website for young readers to explore. The first book, The Colossus Rises, will be on sale worldwide on February 5, 2013.

(Photo: )

This fast-paced tween series about four friends on an epic quest to unlock the secrets of an ancient world has already received high praise from bestselling author Rick Riordan, who called it "a high-octane mix of modern adventure and ancient secrets. Young readers will love this story. I can't wait to see what's next in the Seven Wonders series!"

"It's the story of a lifetime," says Peter Lerangis. "A combustible mix of ordinary kids thrown into an extraordinary world of mystical settings, history, humor, science, odd characters, and a barefoot burping giant named Torquin. I am having way too much fun writing this series. I can't wait for readers across the world to discover Seven Wonders."

"We are thrilled to be publishing master storyteller Peter Lerangis at HarperCollins," says Susan Katz, president and publisher of HarperCollins Children's Books. "With Seven Wonders, Peter has created a new series filled with adventure and excitement that's perfect for young readers." 

The Colossus Rises begins just before thirteen-year-old Jack McKinley is brought to a mysterious hospital as a captive of a secret organization. Told he has a rare genetic disorder that will soon kill him, Jack realizes he has one hope and one hope only:  help the organization retrieve seven magical objects that have been lost among the ruins of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World for thousands of years. With little hope left and only each other to turn to, Jack and his three newfound friends have no choice but to undertake the impossible adventure.  First stop: the Colossus of Rhodes, where they quickly realize that there's much more at stake than just their lives.

The Select, a prequel to the Seven Wonders series, will be released as a free original ebook on December 18, 2012. It traces the story of thirteen-year-old Burt Wenders, as told through his recently unearthed journal. Burt is the first-known carrier of the same genetic disorder afflicting Jack, and The Select is the tale of his adventures over serpent-infested waters and through beast-filled jungles in a vain attempt to find a cure. It's a stirring first-person account of one kid's heroic struggle to save himself—and the first installment of an adventure greater than Burt could have ever imagined.

In addition, beginning December 2012, young readers can go to and continue their involvement in the story. Fans will be able to:

  • Explore an interactive map of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World
  • Watch videos featuring Seven Wonders clips for tweens and educators
  • Download original ebooks and world-building activities
  • Discover early chapter reveals and series teasers
  • Meet Peter Lerangis on a dedicated author page and hear all about his nationwide tour in February 2013
  • Register for Seven Wonders e-newsletter alerts


PETER LERANGIS is the author of more than one hundred and sixty books, which have sold more than four and half million copies and been translated into twenty-eight different languages, including two books in the New York Times bestselling The 39 Clues series (The Sword Thief and The Viper's Nest) and one book in The 39 Clues: Cahills vs. Vespers series (The Dead of Night). Peter is a Harvard graduate with a degree in biochemistry. He has sung in a Broadway show, run a marathon, and gone rock climbing during an earthquake—though not on the same day. He lives in New York City with his wife, musician Tina deVaron, and their two sons, Nick and Joe. In his spare time, he likes to eat chocolate.


HarperCollins Children's Books is one of the leading publishers of children's books. Respected worldwide for its tradition of publishing quality, award-winning books for young readers, HarperCollins is home to many timeless treasures—Charlotte's Web, The Chronicles of Narnia, Goodnight Moon, Where the Sidewalk Ends, the Ramona series, Where the Wild Things Are; and popular new classics—The Graveyard Book, A Series of Unfortunate Events, Warriors, and Fancy Nancy. Consistently at the forefront of digital innovation, HarperCollins Children's Books delights young readers through engaging storytelling in all formats, including ebooks and apps. HarperCollins Children's Books is a division of HarperCollins Publishers, one of the leading English-language publishers in the world and a subsidiary of News Corporation (NASDAQ: NWS, NWSA; ASX: NWS, NWSLV). Headquartered in New York, HarperCollins has publishing groups in the US, Canada, the UK, Australia/New Zealand, and India. You can visit HarperCollins Children's Books at and HarperCollins Publishers at

SOURCE HarperCollins Publishers