Comcast Awards $80,000 To 71 Leaders And Achievers Scholarship Recipients

13 May, 2014, 17:00 ET from Comcast Cable

TRENTON, N.J., May 13, 2014 /PRNewswire/ -- The Comcast Foundation, founded in 1999 to provide charitable support to its local communities and to empower and enrich lives, is awarding $80,000 in scholarships to 71 New Jersey high school seniors through its annual Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program. One of the Comcast Foundation's signature community investment initiatives, the program recognizes students' leadership skills, academic achievement and commitment to community service.

Comcast, joined by New Jersey Lt. Governor Kim Guadagno and other government officials, recognized the students at a special event held Tuesday at the New Jersey State Museum. All of the 2014 New Jersey Leaders and Achievers recipients received $1,000 scholarships, except for Jeremy Garriga from Hudson County Schools of Technology in Jersey City, NJ who was awarded a $10,000 Comcast Founder's Scholarship - instituted in honor of Ralph J. Roberts, Founder and Chairman Emeritus of Comcast Corporation. After a prize drawing, 10 students also received iPad Minis for use at college.

"As leaders in their schools and communities, these students represent the best our state has to offer," said Lt. Governor Guadagno. "Thanks to the Comcast Foundation, we can help ensure their futures remain bright. Congratulations to all the winners and to the Comcast Foundation for their continued efforts in recognizing the next generation of student leaders."

The Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program provides $1,000 scholarships to students who strive to achieve their potential, are catalysts for positive change in their communities, are involved in their schools, and serve as models for their fellow students. The philosophy behind the program is to give young people every opportunity to prepare for the future and to engage them in their communities. The program also demonstrates the value placed on civic involvement by the business community.

"These students are more than hard workers and academic achievers. They also understand the importance of taking an active role in their communities and giving back," said LeAnn Talbot senior vice president for Comcast's Freedom Region. "We are thrilled to help further the education of this next generation and wish them the very best in their future endeavors."

To date, Comcast has awarded more than $21.6 million to nearly 21,000 Leaders and Achievers Scholarship winners.

Connect with the scholarship winners on Facebook at Explore and "like" Comcast in the community at

The Comcast Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program is one of the many ways that Comcast gives back to the communities we serve. Click here to learn more.

About the Comcast Foundation
The Comcast Foundation was founded by Comcast Corporation in June 1999 to provide charitable support to qualified nonprofit organizations. The Foundation primarily invests in programs intended to have a positive, sustainable impact on their communities. The Foundation has three community investment priorities – expanding digital literacy, promoting community service and building tomorrow's leaders. Since its inception, the Comcast Foundation has donated nearly $140 million to organizations in the communities nationwide that Comcast serves. More information about the Foundation and its programs is available at

2014 Comcast Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Winners from New Jersey:
SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS (by County where the high school is located)

Atlantic CityErin Gallagher of Atlantic City High School
Egg Harbor TownshipJoseph Abbate of Egg Harbor Township High School
Galloway TownshipGabrielle Hughes of Absegami High School
HammontonSamantha Wetzel of St. Joseph Regional High School
Linwood – Katie Rha of Mainland Regional High School
RichlandMcClellan Knapp of Saint Augustine Prep

BurlingtonJamie Megee of Burlington City High School
CinnaminsonJake Barnes of Cinnaminson High School
ColumbusAmarpreet Kaur of Northern Burlington County High School
Delran – Shiv Patel of Delran High School
Florence – William Blakeslee of Florence Township Memorial High School
Mount HollyAustin Rivera of Burlington County Institute of Technology
RiversideChristina Chang of Riverside High School
WillingboroQuacy Mars-Dolphin of Willingboro High School

Audubon –Lindsay Del Duke of Audubon High School
Camden – Hecmarie Berrios of Camden Academy Charter High School
Camden – Tyasia Lawson of Charles E. Brimm Medical Arts School
Cherry HillJustin Rosen of Cherry Hill High School East
CollingswoodTyrell Mann-Barnes of Collingswood High School
Gloucester CityJoshua Dobbins of Gloucester City High School
LindenwoldWendy Bonilla Acosta of Lindenwold High School
PennsaukenJulianna Furfari of Bishop Eustace Prep
SicklervilleCameron Allen of Timber Creek High School
Sicklerville – Tyzhae Birton of Gloucester Township Technical High School

BridgetonSarah Richards of Bridgeton High School

CaldwellOlivia Gemma of Mount Saint Dominic Academy
East Orange – Evans Machuka of East Orange Campus High School
Irvington – Rafael Nunez of Irvington High School
MaplewoodSadie Lewis of Columbia High School
Montclair – Madrid Danner-Smith of Immaculate Conception High School
West OrangeGenevieve Palacios-Martinez of West Orange High School

DeptfordSophia Burns of Deptford Township High School
FranklinvilleJanelle Pitts of Delsea Regional High School
SewellCarolyn Black of Washington Township High School
WestvilleBridget Arseneau of West Deptford High School
WoodburyJeffrey Hock of Woodbury High School

Harrison – Sarai Rivera of Harrison High School        
Jersey CityJeremy Garriga of Hudson County Schools of Technology
Jersey City – Scachica Guerro of University Academy Charter School at New Jersey City University
Jersey CityAlicia McPhoy of Dr. Ronald McNair Academic High School
Jersey CityJay Patel of William L. Dickinson High School
SecaucusBethany Mancuso of Secaucus High School

FlemingtonEmma Kaeser of Hunterdon Central Regional High School

Ewing – Magdalena Stankowska of Ewing High School
PenningtonKiana Justiniano of Mcvs Sypek Center Vocational School
TrentonPiyush Puri of Mcvs Assunpink Vocational School
West Windsor – Suchira Sharma of West Windsor/Plainsboro High School South

Carteret – Nicole de Oliveira of Carteret High School
Colonia – Simran Sangu of Colonia High School
Monmouth JunctionVanessa Owusu of South Brunswick High School
South PlainfieldRoweena Kanj of South Plainfield High School
Woodbridge – Naomi Kyle Santos of Woodbridge High School

Highlands – Alexandra Gordon of Marine Academy of Science & Technology

Brick – Olivia Markoski of Brick Township High School
Lanoka HarborThomas Phillips of Lacey Township High School
ManchesterMichael Statile of Manchester Township High School
Point PleasantAshley Kavanagh of Point Pleasant Borough High School
Toms RiverStephanie Poulillo of Monseigneur Donovan High School

PittsgroveCiera Ismail of Arthur P. Schalick High School

HillsboroughJasmine Brown of Hillsborough High School
North PlainfieldHasani Eason of North Plainfield High School
SomersetJennell Stephens of Franklin High School

Roselle ParkVictor Suarez of Roselle Park High School
Scotch PlainsNikhil Patel of Scotch Plains Fanwood High School
SpringfieldDiane Ibe of Jonathan Dayton Regional High School
Summit – Brian Moretti of Oratory Preparatory School

Belvidere – Kristy Harrison of Belvidere High School
HackettstownChristine Ash of Hackettstown High School

Photo -

SOURCE Comcast Cable