2014

Grupo Salinas Receives Energy Ministry Award for Power Conservation

MEXICO CITY, Dec. 1, 2010 /PRNewswire/ -- Grupo Salinas, a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically advanced companies deeply committed to the modernization of the countries in which they operate -- founded by Ricardo Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com) -- announced that it has received the Premio Nacional de Ahorro Electrica 2010 (National Power Conservation Award 2010) award in the category of Large Companies, Retailers and Service Providers as a result of its best practices implemented in 2009 to reduce electricity consumption.

The distinction presented by Mexico's Energy Ministry recognizes the general strategy of Grupo Salinas that is applied to all of its business units and corporate offices.

Specific actions include:

  • The creation of the Grupo Salinas Energy Monitoring Center, the largest in Mexico of its kind, where the principal electricity consumption of Grupo Salinas facilities can be monitored from a central location in real time. The center can immediately recognize anomalies in power usage and take rapid corrective action.
  • The implementation of the Energy Control and Monitoring System (SIMCER for its initials in Spanish), through which 5,000 billing accounts with the Federal Electricity Commission can be monitored and controlled.
  • The creation of the Sello de Ahorro de Energia (Energy Saving Seal), an internal tool that is used throughout Grupo Salinas to evaluate, validate and certify the purchase of energy efficient lighting, air conditioning and other electrical apparatus.

The measures taken allowed the savings of approximately 64 million pesos in the 21-month period of January 2009 through September 2010. The energy saved represents the consumption of 21,327 average households in a year and the reduction of 23,707 tons of carbon dioxide.

Grupo Salinas has also participated in the COP16 U.N. Climate Change Conference held this year in Cancun, with the model of an ideal energy-saving Elektra store and a energy monitoring center.

About Grupo Salinas

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: TV Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx; www.irtvazteca.com), Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

International press contact:

Daniel McCosh

+52 (55) 1720-0059

dmccosh@gruposalinas.com.mx



SOURCE Grupo Salinas



RELATED LINKS
http://www.gruposalinas.com

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

 

PR Newswire Membership

Fill out a PR Newswire membership form or contact us at (888) 776-0942.

Learn about PR Newswire services

Request more information about PR Newswire products and services or call us at (888) 776-0942.