How to Comply With New REACH Obligations in the Electrotechnical Industry

Jan 18, 2016, 10:30 ET from BOMcheck

BATH, England, January 18, 2016 /PRNewswire/ --

Companies' obligations to inform their customers about 168 REACH Candidate List Substances of Very High Concern (SVHC) in their products changed on 10 September 2015 following the European Court of Justice (ECJ) ruling. The 168 SVHCs are substances which are known to cause cancer, change genetic material to cause mutations, cause birth defects and impair children's development, be poisonous or have similar effects on human health and the environment.  Companies now have to inform their customers if any articles in their products contain an SVHC > 0.1% by weight of the article, instead of by weight of the product, and provide information on safe use according to European Chemicals Agency (ECHA) new guidance published 17 December 2015.

     (Logo: http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20160118/323011LOGO )

Join one of the free webinars on Tuesday 26 January to understand the impact on companies and their supply chains in the electrotechnical industry.

Registration for the first webinar at 9.00am in Central Europe, 4.00pm in China, 5.00pm in Japan is available at https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/7533470314769117953

Registration for the second webinar at 10.00am US Eastern Time, 4.00pm Central European Time is available at https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/4996667191559709441

You will also hear how Siemens, Philips, GE Healthcare and other leading companies have implemented ECHA recommendations to:

  • share chemicals knowledge to screen out 96 SVHC substances which are not relevant to the electrotechnical industry
  • establish supply chain communication standards and systems to collect information on safe use from suppliers.

About BOMcheck (http://www.BOMcheck.net)

BOMcheck is an industry collaboration led by Philips, Siemens, GE, Osram, Sony Mobile, Schneider Electric, Toshiba, Agfa, Texas Instruments and TE Connectivity to share one web database system to manage supply chain compliance for RoHS, REACH and other substance regulations around the world. Thousands of companies use BOMcheck to create and share standardized high quality materials declarations for millions of parts. BOMcheck co-chairs the IPC 1752A materials declaration standard and serves as EMEA regional coordinator for the IEC 62474 materials declaration standard.  BOMcheck was awarded 2014 Top Product of the Year and 2015 Top Product of the Year in Environmental Leader Product & Project Awards. For more information visit http://www.BOMcheck.net

SOURCE BOMcheck