Monarcas Morelia Crowned Champions of 2010 SuperLiga US-Mexico Soccer Club Tournament — 2-1 Victory Over New England Revolution Puts Morelia Over the Top in the Eight Team Tournament —

MEXICO CITY, Sept. 6 /PRNewswire/ -- Grupo Salinas, a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically advanced companies deeply committed to the modernization of the countries in which they operate, founded by Ricardo Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), is proud to announce the 2-1 victory of its Monarcas Morelia (www.fuerzamonarca.com) squad against the New England Revolution in the final match of the SuperLiga US-Mexico soccer club championship.

The SuperLiga debuted in 2007 as a competition to bring together top teams of the Primera Division of Mexico and Major League Soccer (MLS) of the United States, the top divisions in each country. To date, the tournament has been won by Mexican clubs in three occasions, with the sole MLS victory by the New England Revolution in 2007.

This year's tournament featured Monarcas Morelia, Puebla, Pumas and Pachuca from Mexico's Primera Division and New England Revolution, Houston Dynamos, Chivas USA and Chicago Fire from MLS.

The first round was held July 14-21 in Houston, Carson, CA; Foxborough, MA and Bridgeview, IL.  The knockout round included a 5-3 win by New England over Puebla in penalty kicks on Aug. 4 at the Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, and a 1-0 win by Monarcas Morelia over Houston at the Robertson Stadium in Houston on Aug. 5.

Monarcas Morelia also was awarded the purse of $1,000,000 for winning the championship. Monarcas Morelia striker Miguel Sabah, who also plays for the Mexican National Team, was the leading scorer, with four goals for the tournament.  

Following the victory, Ricardo Salinas sent a special congratulations to the team through Twitter (@RicardoBSalinas) and Facebook, lauding the passion and effort exhibited in the victory.

About Grupo Salinas

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com ) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include:: TV Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx; irtvazteca.com), Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (ww.bancoazteca.com.mx), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

About Monarcas Morelia

Monarcas Morelia, the "Equipo de la Fuerza", or "Team of Strength" has been part of Grupo Salinas since 1999. The team's mission is to produce, promote and administrate high-level soccer events that increase brand value. Monarcas Morelia fosters creative sustainable development of sporting and commercial operations with social responsibility to benefit partners, fans and sponsors. Strength: a work ethic of effort and dedication. The team office is led by Gustavo Guzman Sepulveda and Alvaro Davila Alanis. For more information visit: www.fuerzamonarca.com.

SOURCE Grupo Salinas



RELATED LINKS
http://www.gruposalinas.com

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

 

PR Newswire Membership

Fill out a PR Newswire membership form or contact us at (888) 776-0942.

Learn about PR Newswire services

Request more information about PR Newswire products and services or call us at (888) 776-0942.