National Association of Specialty Pharmacy (NASP) Announces Leadership Changes for 2016

Burt Zweigenhaft to succeed Mike Ellis as President; Rebecca Shanahan selected as President-Elect

Sep 30, 2015, 09:02 ET from National Association of Specialty Pharmacy

ALEXANDRIA, Va., Sept. 30, 2015 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The National Association of Specialty Pharmacy™ (NASP™) announced today that the Board of Directors has selected Burt Zweigenhaft as President and Rebecca Shanahan of Avella Specialty Pharmacy as President-elect for 2016. Mr. Zweigenhaft will succeed Mike Ellis, who will become Immediate Past President for 2016. Ms. Shanahan will succeed Mr. Zweigenhaft, becoming NASP President in 2017. Both currently serve on the Board of Directors and on the Board's Executive Committee.

"I look forward to the accomplishments that NASP will make in the year ahead," said outgoing NASP President, Mike Ellis. "Burt has been involved with NASP and dedicated to its mission since the beginning. Rebecca is a strong leader who was involved in SPAARx and the merger of the organizations to create a unified, influential organization for specialty pharmacy. They both bring proven leadership and industry knowledge to this organization."

The selection of a President and President-elect for 2016 marks a recently-adopted change in the leadership schedule for NASP. Going forward, the Board will select a President-elect, who will then serve as President, followed by Immediate Past President. Each responsibility has a term of one year with a total time of service of three years. This policy change reflects a decision to provide for greater continuity and seamless leadership transitions on the Board of Directors. 

In addition to these elections, Kelly Ratliff, COO, US Bioservices AmerisourceBergen Specialty Group, and Mark Vineis, Vice President, Cardinal Health Specialty Pharmacy, were elected to the Board of Directors for the 2016 year. NASP would like to thank outgoing Directors Scott Howell and Craig Miller for their contributions to NASP.

View a full listing of the NASP Board of Directors here.

About the National Association of Specialty Pharmacy (NASP) 
The National Association of Specialty Pharmacy™ (NASP™) is the national association for all stakeholders in the specialty pharmacy industry. NASP's 71 corporate members and over 1,000 professionals represent specialty pharmacies, health plans, pharmaceutical and biotechnology manufacturers, GPOs/wholesalers/distributors, and others allied to the industry. The mission of NASP is to provide education programs and business opportunities to improve patient care and to be the national voice for specialty pharmacy.

Robert Fulcher
(703) 842-0122      


SOURCE National Association of Specialty Pharmacy