Overwhelming Response to Reader's Digest 'We Hear You America' Campaign -13 Million Cheers, Nearly Half of American Towns Participating - Spurs New Round of Promotional & Economic Stimulus WE STILL HEAR YOU AMERICA!

Added Support Offered to Towns Across U.S. Increases by $2.5 Million for a Total of $7.5 Million

NEW YORK, March 8, 2011 /PRNewswire/ -- Reader's Digest, the world's largest global editorial brand with a reputation for "getting to the heart of the matter" and capturing the best of America, is expanding its "We Hear You America" campaign in response to the overwhelming participation of towns and cities across America. A new round of cheering (voting) at rd.com begins today, so towns that worked so hard to rally their communities the first time around but missed out on prizes - and towns that are new to the campaign - will have another chance to win promotional and economic stimulus.

"With nearly half of every municipality in the U.S. participating, clearly America is responding to our campaign. In the spirit of the Reader's Digest mission to simplify and enhance the lives of Americans, we've now increased our financial and promotional support from $5 million to $7.5 million to help even more towns during these difficult economic times.  We still hear you America!" commented Dan Lagani, President, Reader's Digest Media.

The next top 10 winning towns in this second phase of the contest, which runs from March 8, 2011 through May 16, 2011, will receive funds ranging from $10,000 to the Grand Prize of $40,000, plus promotional support through coverage in Reader's Digest outlets that include the 30 million-readership strong, flagship magazine, rd.com (with more than two million unique visitors each month), Reader's Digest Special Interest Publications and our new iPad app.

Beginning today, people are encouraged to log on to rd.com and "cheer" for their towns in order to win economic and promotional stimulus for their towns.  The complete rules and instructions are available via www.rd.com/wehearyouamerica.

In addition to the prize-winning towns listed, 90 others have been selected as part of the "We Hear You America" RV tour covering 100 towns in 100 days, hosted by Supermodel and 2011 Celebrity Apprentice star Niki Taylor. The tour commenced on January 18 continues through May. Those towns were chosen on the following basis: 1) impassioned stories that were collected on our "We Hear You America" website via rd.com or 2) inclusion in a past or upcoming "Best of America" issue; or 3) inclusion in the Reader's Digest book Off the Beaten Path or 4) were among the top 10 winners in the first phase of the contest. Today we are at stop #42 in New Orleans, Louisiana.

As previously announced on Facebook, following is the complete list of 100 stops on the "We Hear You America" tour, including the winners and their prizes, from the first round of the contest:

1.

Tuesday, January 18, 2011

New York, NY

2.

Friday, January 21, 2011

Cary, NC

3.

Saturday, January 22, 2011

Conway, SC

4.

Monday, January 24, 2011

Greensboro, NC (pop. 250k-499,999) $10,000

5.

Monday, January 24, 2011

Asheboro, NC

6.

Tuesday, January 25, 2011

Charlotte, NC

7.

Tuesday, January 25, 2011

Hickory, NC

8.

Wednesday, January 26, 2011

North Charleston, SC

9.

Thursday, January 27, 2011

Clemson, SC

10.

Friday, January 28, 2011

Atlanta, GA

11.

Friday, January 28, 2011

Duluth, GA

12.

Friday, January 28, 2011

Porterdale, GA

13.

Saturday, January 29, 2011

Hinesville, GA

14.

Tuesday, February 01, 2011

Lexington, KY

15.

Wednesday, February 02, 2011

Louisville, KY (pop. of 500k or more) $10,000

16.

Thursday, February 03, 2011

Cincinnati, OH

17.

Friday, February 04, 2011

Dayton, OH

18.

Friday, February 04, 2011

Rabbit Hash, KY

19.

Monday, February 07, 2011

St. Louis, MO

20.

Tuesday, February 08, 2011

Jacksonville, IL  (pop. 99,999 or less) $10,000

21.

Wednesday, February 09, 2011

Ava, MO

22.

Thursday, April 07, 2011

Greensburg, KS

23.

Thursday, February 10, 2011

Branson, MO

24.

Friday, February 11, 2011

Little Rock, AR

25.

Friday, February 11, 2011

Wrightsville, AR

26.

Friday, February 11, 2011

East End, AR

27.

Saturday, February 12, 2011

Murfreesboro, AR

28.

Monday, February 14, 2011

Memphis, TN

29.

Wednesday, February 16, 2011

Hunstville, AL

30.

Thursday, February 17, 2011

Helena, AL

31.

Sunday, February 20, 2011

Daytona Beach, FL

32.

Monday, February 21, 2011

Deland, FL

33.

Tuesday, February 22, 2011

Orlando, FL

34.

Tuesday, February 22, 2011

Kissimmee, FL

35.

Wednesday, February 23, 2011

Tampa, FL

36.

Wednesday, February 23, 2011

Plant City, FL

37.

Monday, February 28, 2011

Jackson, MS

38.

Tuesday, March 01, 2011

Brandon, MS

39.

Wednesday, March 02, 2011

Collins, MS

40.

Thursday, March 03, 2011

Flora, MS

41.

Friday, March 04, 2011

Belzoni, MS

42.

Monday, March 07, 2011

New Orleans, LA

43.

Monday, March 07, 2011

Gretna, LA

44.

Wednesday, March 09, 2011

Avery Island, LA

45.

Friday, March 11, 2011

Kenner, LA

46.

Sunday, March 13, 2011

Smithville, TX

47.

Monday, March 14, 2011

Austin, TX

48.

Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Houston, TX

49.

Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Galveston, TX

50.

Friday, March 18, 2011

Phoenix, AZ

51.

Friday, March 18, 2011

Scottsdale, AZ

52.

Saturday, March 19, 2011

Tucson, AZ

53.

Saturday, March 19, 2011

Globe, AZ

54.

Monday, March 21, 2011

Fredonia, AZ

55.

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

Las Vegas, NV

56.

Wednesday, March 23, 2011

North Las Vegas, NV

57.

Thursday, March 24, 2011

Henderson, NV

58.

Friday, March 25, 2011

Barstow, CA

59.

Monday, March 28, 2011

San Jose, CA

60.

Monday, March 28, 2011

Menlo Park, CA

61.

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

San Francisco, CA

62.

Wednesday, March 30, 2011

Oakland, CA

63.

Thursday, March 31, 2011

Modesto, CA

64.

Thursday, March 31, 2011

Stockton, CA

65.

Friday, April 01, 2011

Sacramento, CA

66.

Saturday, April 02, 2011

Reno, NV

67.

Tuesday, April 05, 2011

Salt Lake City, UT

68.

Tuesday, April 05, 2011

Sandy, UT

69.

Friday, April 08, 2011

Genoa, NE Runner-Up ($10,000)

70.

Friday, April 08, 2011

Ainsworth, NE Runner-Up ($10,000)

71.

Sunday, April 10, 2011

Bloomington, MN

72.

Monday, April 11, 2011

St. Paul, MN

73.

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Minneapolis, MN

74.

Wednesday, April 13, 2011

Eden Prairie, MN

75.

Thursday, April 14, 2011

Minnetonka, MN

76.

Friday, April 15, 2011

Duluth, MN

77.

Saturday, April 16, 2011

Grand Marais, MI Grand Prize ($40,000)

78.

Sunday, April 17, 2011

Muskego, WI

79.

Sunday, April 17, 2011

Kohler, WI

80.

Sunday, April 17, 2011

Kewaskum, WI

81.

Sunday, April 17, 2011

West Bend, WI

82.

Monday, April 18, 2011

Milwaukee, WI

83.

Tuesday, April 19, 2011

Chicago, IL

84.

Wednesday, April 20, 2011

Aurora, IL

85.

Thursday, April 21, 2011

Fairbury, IL Second Place ($25,000)

86.

Monday, April 25, 2011

Albion, MI Runner-Up ($10,000)

87.

Monday, April 25, 2011

St. Johns, MI Runner-Up ($10,000)

88.

Tuesday, April 26, 2011

Flint, MI

89.

Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Detroit, MI

90.

Thursday, April 28, 2011

Allen Park, MI

91.

Sunday, May 01, 2011

Berea, OH

92.

Tuesday, May 03, 2011

Cleveland, OH

93.

Tuesday, May 03, 2011

Euclid, OH

94.

Tuesday, May 03, 2011

Mentor, OH

95.

Wednesday, May 04, 2011

Ashtabula, OH

96.

Saturday, May 07, 2011

Washington, PA

97.

Sunday, May 08, 2011

Bethlehem, PA

98.

Tuesday, May 10, 2011

Philadelphia, PA

99.

Wednesday, May 11, 2011

Boston, MA

100.

Thursday, May 12, 2011

Manchester, NH (pop. 100k-249,999) $10,000



About RDA

RDA is a global media and direct marketing company that educates, entertains and connects more than 130 million consumers around the world with products and services from trusted brands. With offices in 44 countries, the company reaches customers in 78 countries, publishes 90 magazines, including 50 editions of Reader's Digest, the world's largest-circulation magazine, operates 83 branded websites and sells nearly 40 million books, music and video products across the world each year. Further information about the company can be found at www.rda.com.

CONTACT:

Karen Reynolds (646) 293-6153

Sal Cataldi (212) 244-9797


Reader's Digest Media

Cataldi Public Relations


Karen_reynolds@rd.com

Sal@Cataldipr.com  



SOURCE Reader's Digest



RELATED LINKS
http://www.rd.com

More by this Source


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

 

PR Newswire Membership

Fill out a PR Newswire membership form or contact us at (888) 776-0942.

Learn about PR Newswire services

Request more information about PR Newswire products and services or call us at (888) 776-0942.