RoHS2 Enforcement Actions and Product Withdrawals Across Europe

Apr 19, 2016, 13:39 ET from BOMcheck

BATH, Wiltshire, April 19, 2016 /PRNewswire/ --

BOMcheck is providing free webinars on Thursday 12 May to explain how enforcement actions and product withdrawals across Europe have increased significantly under the EU RoHS2 Directive 2011/65/EU on the Restriction of Hazardous Substances in Electrical and Electronic Equipment.  With leading international experts located in the UK, BOMcheck has unique access to information on enforcement and product withdrawals across Europe not only for RoHS2 but also for the EU Persistent Organic Pollutants (POPs) Regulation and the EU REACH Regulation.

     (Logo: http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20160118/323011LOGO )
      (Logo: http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20160210/331718LOGO )

Did you know:  

  • Enforcement actions by the UK RoHS2 regulator increased 350% in 2014, from 284 actions in 2013 to 991 actions in 2014
  • Product withdrawals for RoHS2 non-compliance started in Slovenia in 2015.  Product withdrawals under the new POPs restriction of SCCP in articles also started in Sweden and Norway in 2015.  Product withdrawals under the REACH restriction of asbestos in articles continued in 2015.    
  • 40% of higher priced toys inspected in the UK in 2014 were non-compliant to RoHS2 and/or Batteries restrictions

The webinars on Thursday 12 May will explain how companies can use the EN 50581 standard to manage compliance across their supply chains.   The EN 50581 standard is endorsed by the European Commission as an approved method for managing compliance with EU RoHS2.  Regulatory authorities expect companies to adopt the EN 50581 standard or provide evidence that their compliance management system provides equivalent quality levels.  The webinars will explain how the standardised, high quality declarations that suppliers create in BOMcheck comply with EN 50581.  BOMcheck also provides free monthly training webinars to explain new regulatory requirements and how suppliers can use BOMcheck to reduce the cost of their REACH compliance efforts by 66%.  

Registration for the first webinar at 9.00am in Central Europe, 8.00am UK time, 4.00pm in China, 5.00pm in Japan is available at https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/6666203033796449281

Registration for the second webinar at 11.00am US Eastern Time, 5.00pm Central European Time, 4.00pm UK time is available at https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/2519350949174612993

About BOMcheck (http://www.BOMcheck.net)

BOMcheck is an industry collaboration led by Philips, Siemens, GE, Osram, Sony Mobile, Schneider Electric, Toshiba, Agfa, Texas Instruments and TE Connectivity to share one web database system to manage supply chain compliance for RoHS, REACH and other substance regulations around the world. Thousands of companies use BOMcheck to create and share standardized high quality materials declarations for millions of parts. BOMcheck co-chairs the IPC 1752A materials declaration standard and serves as EMEA regional coordinator for the IEC 62474 materials declaration standard.  BOMcheck was awarded 2014 Top Product of the Year and 2015 Top Product of the Year in Environmental Leader Product & Project Awards. For more information visit http://www.BOMcheck.net  

Media Contact:
Dr Aidan Turnbull
Director, BOMcheck.net
thinkstep compliance limited
Overmoor, Neston, Corsham, Wiltshire, SN13 9TZ
Tel: +44 1225 637 129
Mobile: +44  77100 23461
Fax: +44 1225 738 548
aturnbull@bomcheck.net

SOURCE BOMcheck