Sony Movie Channel Honors Veterans With Special Marathons On Monday, Nov. 11 And Thanksgiving, Nov. 28 ALSO IN NOVEMBER, THE CHANNEL CELEBRATES THE CAREERS OF BURT LANCASTER, RORY CALHOUN, HUMPHREY BOGART AND CHARLES BRONSON

CULVER CITY, Calif., Oct. 24, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- Sony Movie Channel gives thanks to the U.S. armed forces in November, programming military-themed marathons on both Veterans Day, Monday, Nov. 11 and Thanksgiving, Thursday, Nov. 28. In addition to providing these military salutes, the HD movie network puts the spotlight on the work of several notable actors—each equally recognized for their legendary careers. These thespians include Humphrey Bogart, Rory Calhoun, Charles Bronson and Burt Lancaster. Lancaster's tribute is set to occur on Nov. 2, which would have been his 100th birthday.

Movies with strong female characters are also prominent in November, with the recent Julia Roberts starrer EAT PRAY LOVE being broadcast on both Nov. 8 at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT, and Nov. 24 at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT, and again at 9:35 p.m. ET/6:35 p.m. PT. THE WAY WE WERE, starring Barbra Streisand and Robert Redford, airs Nov. 26 at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT, and the delightful gem GUARDING TESS, with Shirley MacLaine and Nicolas Cage, opens the month on Nov.1 at 8:20 p.m. ET/5:20 p.m. PT. That same day, viewers will enjoy the drama RANDOM HEARTS, with Harrison Ford and Kristin Scott Thomas, at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT.

Biopics centering on some of the greatest comedians of the 20th century will be shown back-to-back on Sunday, Nov. 17 when LUCY, focusing on Lucille Ball, airs at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT; MARTIN AND LEWIS, highlighting the 10-year rocky relationship between Dean Martin and Jerry Lewis, airs at 9:15 p.m. ET/6:15 p.m. PT and THE THREE STOOGES, a biographical look at the careers of the comedy trio through the eyes their leader Moe Howard, airs at 11 p.m. ET/8 p.m. PT.

Highlights include (All Times Eastern Below):

LEGENDARY ACTOR SHOWCASES

Sat., Nov. 2 – Burt Lancaster's 100th Birthday


2:30 p.m.     

ROCKET GIBRALTAR  (1988) The family patriarch's 77th birthday occasions a memorable party and reunion. Starring Burt Lancaster, Bill Pullman and Kevin Spacey.  (Repeats Nov. 7 at 11:40 p.m.)


4:20 p.m.

THE SWIMMER (1968) – An advertising man decides to swim home via his neighbors' pools. Starring Burt Lancaster and Janet Landgard. (Repeats Nov. 7 at 10 p.m.)


6:10 p.m.

ZULU DAWN (1979) – In 1879, the British suffer a great loss at the Battle of Isandiwana due to incompetent leadership.  Despite the defeat, the Zulus are first humiliated at Roark's Drift and then crushed at the Battle of Ulundi. Starring Burt Lancaster, Simon Ward and Bob Hoskins. (Repeats Nov. 13 at 10 p.m.)

 

Sun., Nov. 3 – Charles Bronson's Birthday


7 p.m.      

HARD TIMES (1975) A depression era street fighter joins with a promoter of no-holds-barred street boxing bouts in New Orleans. Starring Charles Bronson, James Coburn and Jill Ireland.  (Repeats Nov. 27 at 8 p.m.)


8:40 p.m.   

BREAKOUT (1975) –A Texas bush pilot is hired by a woman to help break out her husband who is imprisoned in Mexico on a framed charge that was engineered by his Grandfather. Starring Charles Bronson, Robert Duvall and Jill Ireland. (Repeats Nov. 27 at 9:40 p.m.)


10:25 p.m. 

THE STONE KILLER (1973) – A tough New York cop discovers that a prohibition gangster is planning a massacre – revenge for a 40-year-old shootout. Starring Charles Bronson and Martin Balsam. (Repeats Nov. 27 at 11:25 p.m.)

 

Wed., Nov. 6 – Humphrey Bogart


8 p.m.

SIROCCO (1951) A gunrunner's loyalties are tested when he falls for the mistress of the French colonel battling a determined Syrian resistance force. Starring Humphrey Bogart and Lee J. Cobb. (Repeats Nov. 11 at 9:45 a.m.)


9:45 p.m.

KNOCK ON ANY DOOR (1949) – A crusading defense attorney fights to save an underprivileged young hoodlum from the electric chair. Starring Humphrey Bogart, John Derek and George Macready.


11:35 p.m.

DEAD RECKONING (1947) – A decorated war veteran becomes entangled in the search for a fellow Medal of Honor winner's killer. Starring Humphrey Bogart and Lizabeth Scott.

 

Wed., Nov. 20 – Rory Calhoun


8 p.m.

DOMINO KID (1957) Calhoun's character tracks down and kills five outlaws who killed his father and stole his cattle, while he was away fighting for the Confederacy during the Civil War. Starring Rory Calhoun and Andrew Duggan. (Repeats Nov. 23 at 1 p.m.)


9:20 p.m.

UTAH BLAINE (1949) – A gunslinger helps a ranch owner in his attempt to prevent a renegade crew from taking over the territory. Starring Rory Calhoun and Max Baer. (Repeats Nov. 23 at 2:20 p.m.)


10:45 p.m.

APACHE TERRITORY (1957) – A drifter takes on marauding Apaches in order to save a group of besieged settlers. Starring Rory Calhoun and Barbara Bates. (Repeats Nov. 23 at 3:45 p.m.)

VETERAN'S DAY TRIBUTE – Monday, Nov. 11 (8 a.m.1:30 a.m. ET)

THE COCKLESHELL HEROES (8 a.m.); SIROCCO (9:45 a.m.); REUNION AT FAIRBOROUGH (11:35 a.m.); THE BLUE AND THE GRAY (1:40 p.m.); SAHARA (8:10 p.m. & 11:35 p.m.) AND IKE: COUNTDOWN TO D-DAY (10 p.m. & 1:30 a.m.)

THANKSGIVING DAYThursday, Nov. 28 (6:20 a.m.4:00 a.m. ET)

THE COCKLESHELL HEROES (6:20 a.m.); SIROCCO (8 a.m.); THE LONG GRAY LINE (9:40 a.m.); THE BLUE AND THE GRAY (12 p.m.); IKE: COUNTDOWN TO D-DAY (6:35 p.m. & 4:00 a.m.) and SAHARA (8:10 p.m. & 2 a.m.) and GARDENS OF STONE (10 p.m. & 12 a.m.)

For a complete schedule of films and times, visit www.Sonymoviechannel.com/schedule.
In addition to airing these films on the dates noted above, some of the movies mentioned are scheduled for further broadcasts throughout the month. (See listings for further details.)

About Sony Movie Channel
Sony Movie Channel is the first U.S. multi-platform television network from Sony Pictures Television created specifically for the Hollywood movie fan. Offering uncut, uncensored theatrical releases in stunning high definition, Sony Movie Channel showcases titles from Sony Pictures' vast library including award-winning features, cult favorites, family comedies and gripping dramas. Programming is selected from more than 3,500 Sony Pictures films, which collectively have received 184 Academy Awards including 12 for Best Picture. Sony Movie Channel is available on DISH Network, DIRECTV and AT&T U-Verse TV on linear as well as on authenticated VOD and online platforms. For more information, visit SonyMovieChannel.com, Facebook and/or Twitter @SonyMovieCh.

SOURCE Sony Movie Channel



RELATED LINKS
http://www.sonymoviechannel.com

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

 

PR Newswire Membership

Fill out a PR Newswire membership form or contact us at (888) 776-0942.

Learn about PR Newswire services

Request more information about PR Newswire products and services or call us at (888) 776-0942.