The SC Johnson Young Leaders Scholarship Program Names Racine-Area Recipients

More than $300,000 will be Awarded this Year

Jul 09, 2013, 09:00 ET from SC Johnson

RACINE, Wis., July 9, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- SC Johnson is pleased to announce that the SC Johnson Young Leaders Scholarship program has awarded $317,500 in scholarships to students in the Racine community who plan to continue their education in college or vocational school. The program, now in its 11th year, granted 16 new scholarships and renewed 48 scholarships for the 2013/2014 academic year. 

"SC Johnson is pleased to recognize Racine's students for their hard work and educational commitment," said Fisk Johnson, Chairman and CEO of SC Johnson. "Education costs can be daunting for students and their families, that's why it's so rewarding to support Racine's young leaders through this community program."

This year's recipients include: Darrius Chambers (Park High School), Tyler Cohen (Walden III High School), Jaliin Collier (Park High School), Alexia Gates (Horlick High School), Pedro Guajardo (Park High School), Iman Hammad (Case High School), Mitchell Hauser-Smetana (Horlick High School), Aradhika Khanna (Case High School), Kaitlynn Large (Park High School), Diana Mora (Case High School), Faith Ogungbe (The Prairie School), Benjamin Pruitt (St. Catherine's High School), Rachel Ramsey (Park High School), Raymond Standiford (Horlick High School), Tiffany Tilot (Horlick High School) and Sage Witherspoon (Park High School).

SC Johnson established the Young Leaders Scholarships in 2002 and has assisted nearly 200 students and granted $3.2 million in scholarships since the program's inception. All Racine-area seniors are eligible to apply with the exception of dependents of employees, retirees and shareholders of SC Johnson who qualify separately for the SC Johnson Sons and Daughters Scholarship Program. To qualify for the Young Leaders Scholarships, applicants must demonstrate economic need, have a minimum cumulative grade point average, and plan to enroll in a full-time undergraduate course of study at an accredited college, university or vocational-technical school.

Awards are granted without regard to race, color, creed, religion, sexual orientation, gender or disability. Each recipient receives a scholarship up to $5,000 with the ability to renew it for three additional years. The scholarships are awarded by SC Johnson Giving, Inc., the grant-making arm of SC Johnson. The program is administered by Scholarship America.  

About SC Johnson
SC Johnson is a family company dedicated to innovative, high-quality products, excellence in the workplace and a long-term commitment to the environment and the communities in which it operates. Based in the USA, the company is one of the world's leading manufacturers of household cleaning products and products for home storage, air care, pest control and shoe care. It markets such well-known brands as GLADE®, KIWI®, OFF!®, PLEDGE®, RAID®, SCRUBBING BUBBLES®, SHOUT®, WINDEX® and ZIPLOC® in the U.S. and beyond, with brands marketed outside the U.S. including AUTAN®, TANA®, BAMA®, BAYGON®, BRISE®, KABIKILLER®, KLEAR®, MR. MUSCLE®, and RIDSECT®. The 127-year-old company, that generates $9 billion in sales, employs nearly 13,000 people globally and sells products in virtually every country around the world.


Related Links