U.S. Civil Rights Commission Announces Appointments to the Minnesota State Advisory Committee

Apr 28, 2011, 10:36 ET from U.S. Commission on Civil Rights

WASHINGTON, April 28, 2011 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights has appointed 11 Minnesota citizens to its Minnesota State Advisory Committee.

Kimberly Tolhurst, Delegated the Authority of the Staff Director of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, announced the appointment of Robert L. Battle, Kenneth O. Doyle, JoAnn C. Enos, and Teresa J. Nelson of St. Paul; Nekima V. Levy-Pounds, Kirk O. Kolbo, Shamus P. O'Meara and Craig D. Taylor of Minneapolis; Ryan M. Check of St. Louis Park; John A. Gilbertson of Marine St. Croix; and Velma J. Korbel of Andover.  Commissioners appointed Nekima V. Levy-Pounds of Minneapolis as Chairperson.  The appointments are for two years and members serve without compensation.

Congress has directed the Commission to establish state advisory committees (SACs) in all 50 states and the District of Columbia to study issues and forward advisory reports to the Commission on matters within the agency's jurisdiction that reflect the views of the majority of SAC members producing the report.

The SACs' advisory reports to the Commission are wholly independent, and reviewed by Commission staff only for legal and procedural compliance with Commission policies and procedures. SAC reports are not subject to Commission approval, fact-checking or policy changes.  

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with monitoring federal civil rights enforcement. Members include Chairman Martin Castro and Commissioners Roberta Achtenberg, Todd Gaziano, Gail Heriot, Peter Kirsanow, Abigail Thernstrom, Dina Titus and Michael Yaki. The Commission's website is http://www.usccr.gov.

Lenore Ostrowsky
Acting Chief, Public Affairs Unit
(202) 376-8591

SOURCE U.S. Commission on Civil Rights