Verizon Foundation Presents Free May 15 Webinar on Building Students' Historical Literacy Skills with Common Core Standards Discussion Designed for History and Social Studies Teachers, but Open to all Interested Educators

BASKING RIDGE, N.J., May 14, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- The latest free, live webinar from the Verizon Foundation's Thinkfinity.org will discuss building students' historical thinking and literacy skills by using Common Core standards. The webinar, which will be held on Wednesday (May 15) and presented in partnership with the Smithsonian's National Museum of American History, features professor Chauncey Monte-Sano from the School of Education at the University of Michigan.

A former high school history teacher and National Board Certified teacher, Monte-Sano is co-author of "Reading Like a Historian: Teaching Literacy in Middle and High School History Classrooms." She was the recipient of the 2011 American Educational Association Division K Early Career Award and the 2007 Larry Metcalf Dissertation Award from the National Council of the Social Studies. She earned her PhD at Stanford University, where she was a founding member of the Stanford History Education Group and was part of the team that created the award-winning website, Historical Thinking Matters.

To register for the Historical Literacy and the Common Core webinar, click here (or go to http://vz.to/128yhwa). Once you have registered, an email confirmation will be sent with a link to join the webinar as a guest. For those unable to join online on May 15, audio is available by dialing 866-615-5721 and entering code 7311493#.

The free Thinkfinity.org webinar series keeps teachers across the country informed on the latest in education and provides insights to integrate new lessons into the classroom.  All webinars are available for on-demand replay and can be access by visiting: http://thinkfinity.org/community/professionaldevelopment/content.

WHAT:

Verizon Foundation's Thinkfinity.org webinar: "Historical Literacy and the Common Core."



WHEN:

Wednesday, May 15, at 4:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. CT/2:30 p.m. MT/ 1:30 p.m. PT 



WHERE:

Online webinar: Click here or go to http://vz.to/10wMWPz.


Audio is available by dialing (866) 615-5721 and entering code 7311493#.



WHO:

Professor Chauncey Monte-Sano from the School of Education at the University of Michigan.        



SOURCE Verizon



RELATED LINKS
http://www.verizon.com

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

 

PR Newswire Membership

Fill out a PR Newswire membership form or contact us at (888) 776-0942.

Learn about PR Newswire services

Request more information about PR Newswire products and services or call us at (888) 776-0942.