Ring in the New Year with Hong Kong's Annual Countdown Celebrations

Hong Kong Tourism Board Provides Live Satellite Feed of New Year -- New World - Hong Kong Countdown Celebrations "Pyromusical"

Dec 18, 2014, 16:54 ET from Hong Kong Tourism Board

LOS ANGELES, Dec. 18, 2014 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Lighting up the sky once again to celebrate the New Year, the Hong Kong Tourism Board (HKTB) will stage a "pyromusical" which interweaves pyrotechnics with fireworks, special lighting effects and music on the night of December 31, 2014. In the eight-minute pyromusical, a series of colorful pyrotechnics will be launched from Victoria Harbour and rooftops of various high-rise buildings on the waterfront of Hong Kong Island, interjected by fireworks and special lighting. For the first time, a new mega high-definition LED screen will be set up on the façade of the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre (HKCEC) for the pivotal numerical display.

To heighten the anticipation, pyrotechnic "shooting stars" will be launched every 15 minutes from the rooftops of the participating buildings beginning at 10:00 a.m. EST / 9:00 a.m. CST / 7:00 a.m. PST. The HKTB has designed new elements for the show, including an artificial snow and fragrance effect at the Hong Kong Cultural Centre as well as a mega high-definition LED screen on the façade of the HKCEC to display the numerals "2015" during the eight-minute show.

To further get into the holiday spirit, HKTB is putting on the Hong Kong Pulse 3D Light Show from December 17-29, 2014 with a Christmas makeover and festive surprises on the façade of the Hong Kong Cultural Centre and the Clock Tower with four shows every evening.

To ensure global audiences can share the excitement in Hong Kong, HKTB will provide satellite feed of the entire event for use by television broadcasters worldwide.

1.      Satellite Feed Details

Via IS-21 at 58 degree West, 11C CH-A 9MHz C BAND (Covering The Americas, North America & South America)

  • Program name: New YearNew World – Hong Kong Countdown Celebrations
  • On-air date & time: 12/31/2014 (Local Time: 10:55 a.m.11:10 a.m. EST / 9:55 a.m.10:10 a.m. CST / 7:55 a.m.8:10 a.m. PST) – Free to air signal
  • Download link: 3906.5MHz
  • Symbol rate: 6.1113 MS/s
  • FEC: 3/4
  • Polarization: Vertical
  • System: SD NTSC
  • DVB-S QPSK
  • Format: Mpeg 2 16: 9 4:2:0 A1 : A2 Stereo PGM
  • Encryption System: Free to air signal

2.      About the New YearNew World Hong Kong Countdown Celebrations

Date

December 31, 2014

Featured buildings

Show anchor with giant LED display

·         Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre (HKCEC)

 

 

 

Buildings with rooftop pyrotechnic effects

·         Central Plaza                                                           

·         CITIC Tower

·         Harbour Centre

·         Hopewell Centre

·         Immigration Tower

·         Queensway Government Offices

 

 

Shooting stars

Local time: 10:00 a.m. EST / 9:00 a.m. CST / 7:00 a.m. PST at 15-minute intervals):

·         Silver for career

·         Green for health

·         Gold for fortune

·         Red for love

New elements

·         Giant high-definition LED display on the façade of the HKCEC

·         For the first time, LINE characters will appear on the HKCEC LED display to usher in the New Year with the spectators

·         Artificial snow effect in the Hong Kong Cultural Centre area

·         Live broadcast of the countdown show on the south façade of the Hong Kong Cultural Centre

Vantage points

·         The Tsim Sha Tsui waterfront, between the Avenue of Stars and the Hong Kong Cultural Centre

·         Golden Bauhinia Square, Wan Chai

·         Victoria Harbour, aboard one of the New Year Countdown Cruises organized by the local travel trade

 

SOURCE Hong Kong Tourism Board